Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

MW and TK in assaults

 Post subject: MW and TK in assaults
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 4:47 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:47 am
Posts: 1434
Location: State College
Quote: (zombocom @ 07 May 2009, 17:25 )

therwise banshee exarches should have first strike etc. They don't.

Surely if that's the case then a character stand cannot have ANY of the attributes of the unit it represents - so assault marine librarians can't have jump packs, Shining Spear exarchs can't have skimmer, lance and so on and so forth. I've gotta say, that just doesn't make any sense.

_________________
numquam culum es


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: MW and TK in assaults
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 4:58 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:37 am
Posts: 568
Location: Manchester UK
Not so.

These special attributes are listed in the notes section of the unit entry and so apply.  Lance for the shining spears and first strike for the banshees appear as part of the weapon's special rules and so do not apply to the exarchs.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: MW and TK in assaults
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 5:01 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:47 am
Posts: 1434
Location: State College
Quote: (stompzilla @ 08 May 2009, 04:58 )

Not so.

These special attributes are listed in the notes section of the unit entry and so apply.  Lance for the shining spears and first strike for the banshees appear as part of the weapon's special rules and so do not apply to the exarchs.

ah, okay, got my knickers crossed (is that the right metaphor?). Didn't realise that the Banshee's first strike was a weapon attribute, though that obviously makes sense :)

_________________
numquam culum es


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: MW and TK in assaults
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 2:44 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (stompzilla @ 07 May 2009, 02:20 )

It's not though, as the note explains.  The MW ability is confered to the unit's FF value, hence any extra attacks the unit has would also gain the MW ability.

It's not well-written.  Instead of "FF value" it should have said "the weapon's small arms attack" or "basic FF attack" or something like that.  When the text was originally written, it was only on units that had no Extra Attacks.  In fact, it was written because the units had no Extra Attacks and the rulebook only discussed macroweapon assault attacks in the context of Extra Attack ability.

It became the standard explanatory text before anyone realized the confusion it would cause when adding EA.

There is an attempted clarification in the FAQ.  With emphasis added:
Q: Some abilities can apply to either a
unit or a weapon. How does this work
when a unit is carrying a weapon with
such an ability?

A: While the special abilities are generally
categorized into “Specialist Unitsâ€Â

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 38 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net