Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Consolidation moves...

 Post subject: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:51 pm
Posts: 252
Are mix formations able to embark transports as part of a consolidation move?

Sorry if this is a real nubbin question but I've gone rules blind looking at the book :S


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Hi, this FAQ is actually slightly incorrect; it only applies to troops embarking back onto a War Engine transport, not to 'standard' transports.

The point is that troops embark and disembark from WE slightly differently than from ordinary transports. This is explained in 3.1.3 but essentially troops can embark onto a WE transport at the end of their move after which the WE transport may not move, otherwise the troops would effectively be moving further than they should thus gaining an unfair advantage. It is for this reason that an Air Transport (WE) loses it's disengagement move if troops used their consolidation move to embark onto it.

I have raised this query with Dave here


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:02 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
I'm not following you Ginger. This Q&A isn't talking about troops embarking on a transport, it's talking about the transport picking up the units as part of its consolidation move.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Well, a 'standard' transport like a Wave Serpent can consolidate and pick up troops eg Guardians after they have performed a successful assault. However, if the Guardians consolidate back onto a Vampire, this act prevents the Vampire from moving again, so prevents the Vampire from Disengaging in the end phase. Equally, the Guardians may consolidate after their combat and then be collected by a Vampire later in the turn.

On reflection, it could be the wording that is slightly confusing, since it is suggesting that the unit being picked up may not make a consolidation move, which is not correct.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:53 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
What it's covering is if a transport (WE or not) makes a consolidation move it can pick up units, and those units that are picked up aren't allowed to make a consolidation move.

It's not covering that a unit is allowed to use its consolidation move to embark on a WE transport (which in turn can't consolidate). That's covered elsewhere.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
I am not sure I understand what is intended then; once a formation is inside a transport it loses all movement, so obviously has no consolidation when inside.

However, the troops are allowed to disembark if the transport is assaulted (providing they are not locked in). This FAQ suggests that the disembarked troops could not consolidate under these circumstances - is that really what was intended?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:14 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
Ginger wrote:
I am not sure I understand what is intended then; once a formation is inside a transport it loses all movement, so obviously has no consolidation when inside.


A unit can't consolidate and then be picked up by a transport also consolidating.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:36 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Hi Dave, could you expand further.

I am struggling to envisage the situation that the FAQ is intended to clarify, not least because I thought WE were the only type of units that could pick up another formation, and they do not embark units in this manner


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:55 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
It's just a simple question of: "can units be picked up by transports during a consolidation move in the same way they can in a normal move?" Answer: yes.

Or to put another way: "does a consolidation move count as a move for the purposes of the Transport rule?" Answer: yes

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:02 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Ah, I understand. Apologies for the significant digression.

This FAQ covers the situation where a formation is consolidating and troops are being picked up by their transports as part of the consolidation move. 1.7.5 is clear that the transport moves over the troops to pick them up, and that the troops are not allowed to move when this happens. The FAQ is merely restating this point

Perhaps the answer could be reworded slightly to read:-

A. Yes and yes. A transport may consolidate and pick up troops from its own formation, but they may not move while this happens (see 1.7.5)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:28 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
Added.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:39 am
Posts: 191
Sorry, how far is a consolidation move? And where does it say in the rules?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
consolidation is in 1.12.9
Quote:
1.12.9 Winner Consolidates
After the loser has withdrawn, the winning formation receives
a number of Blast markers equal to the number of units that
were killed by the enemy. Note that it is possible for a
formation to win an assault and then become broken by the
casualties that they suffered! In this case, the winning
formation is broken, but does not have to make a withdrawal
even if other enemy units are within 15cm (see 1.13.3). If the
winner of the combat was already broken at the start of the
combat, they do not receive any additional Blast markers.
Any units on the winning side may then move 5cm. This is a
free bonus move designed to allow attacking units to occupy
territory they have captured.
Units may not enter an enemy’s
zone of control when they consolidate.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Consolidation moves...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:56 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:39 am
Posts: 191
Cheers. Not sure how I didnt see that!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net