Login |  Register |  FAQ

Question from a beginner

Post subject: Question from a beginner
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:57 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Hi,
I am new to the epic 40k gaming. I have carefully looked at epic 40k, EA, and NetEpic. I like the netEpic rules the best.
I do have a question. If you have a command stand that is part of a detachment (Like a Squat warlord with 9 combat squads) how does his special command ability work with the res of his detachment?
Do you give the rest of the detachment their own order counter while he uses his own ability or do you ignore his command ability and he uses the order the detachment received? Or does it work some other way.

Also does anyone know where I can buy strip bases like the ones GW used to sell?

Thanks

Profile Send private message  

Post subject: Re: Question from a beginner
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

hi

Not sure about the rules there but you can still buy strip bases on the UK GW website. Not sure if your aware but stock is being run down so they might not be around for long ! I don't know if that's the situation in the US. Failing that, just type epic 40k into eBay.

I'm sure some helpful fellow will come along and help you with the rules and probably other proxy base suppliers soon.

Enjoy the boards.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:09 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Hi Morholt,

The abilities that an HQ unit have don't apply to the troops in their company. You would order both the HQ unit and any nearby detachments (a seperate order for each).

The only ability a standard HQ unit has is that it can't be targeted unless it is the closest unit of its type.

However, your Squat Warlord isn't a normal HQ unit. As well as the HQ ability, he has Elite, Command and Inspirational abilities.

Elite means you can get a re-roll in close combat once per game (see more on p49 of the main rulebook)