Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

5.1.6 Question

 Post subject: 5.1.6 Question
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:25 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Southern California
My opponent and I were using the Epic Armageddon Compendium the other day for a game when a question came up.  He believed that, per the third paragraph, all formations that have transports must be deployed in them at the start of the game.  I read it that that word "into" implies that this only has to do with units that start the game off of the board.  For example, if you have a unit of terminators and a thunderhawk, you have to declare during deployment whether the terminators will teleport on to the battlefield or come in on the thunderhawk, and you have to stick to your decision.  Marines deployed with rhino transports do not have to start in them during deployment.

Who is correct?

Thanks for keeping the support going on a great game.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 5.1.6 Question
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:57 pm
Posts: 885
Location: Darkest Oxfordshire
I'm pretty sure that paragraph (6.1.6 in the original rulebook, if anyone's searching for it) only refers to formations that are in reserve. I.e. you were right, not your opponent.

The rule is a bit ambiguous, though.

_________________
"Good ale, the true and proper drink of Englishmen. He is not deserving of the name of Englishman who speaketh against ale, that is good ale."
- George Borrow


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 5.1.6 Question
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:24 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Stuff that starts on table may be deployed inside or outside their transports at the players discretion.

What you are referring to is in the Tournament game and specifically to off-table reserves. Here you must first declare spaceships (and their contents) and subsequently other off-table forces all of which must be deployed inside their 'transports' or declaring their means of entering the table.

So the Terminators must be declared as teleporting OR in their air-transport; Eldar troops likewise must be declared in their Vampires, OR set aside in the Webway etc.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 5.1.6 Question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:24 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:25 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Southern California
That's what I figured.  Thanks for the answers.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net