Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transport

 Post subject: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transport
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 3:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 6:55 pm
Posts: 803
Hey there, I have a couple of questions. right away:

The situation is as follows:
A landing Craft is placed on the table, next to an enemy formation. The Marine player does some stuff, initative passes and the Craft has still a formation inside. The enemy has the opportunity to attack the craft. Now the questions arise:

1) The formation inside may exit the Craft as a Counter Charge Move as long as there are not damage capacity times two bases in contact with the Landing Craft already, correct?

2) IF the formation exits, does the whole formation has to leave as it is a different formation as the Craft?

3) Is the formation allowed to do a counter charge?

Next up, combat resolution. The Marine player loses the Assault by one. Now, the assaulted formation is broken. Additional, after allocating the Hack Down Hits, the Aircraft would be destroyed - but is fearless. A fearless landed aircraft is counted as a fearless ground unit with a movement of Zero.

4) Is the aircraft still destroyed if there is at least one enemy base in five centimeters AFTER the Craft breaks but BEFORE the enemy does his consolidation movement? The reasoning for this is the Withdrawl Move which fails to move out of 5cm.

5) In case the formation inside elected to stay inside - what happens? Does everybody get a save or are they destroyed as they are inside an aircraft beeing destroyed (4.2.5) ?

6) Is the formation, if it elected to stay inside, broken? Given the fact that it is indeed an another formation, completely unrelated to the Craft apart from beeing transported, this may the case. Could be I am missing a rule here, like "it counts as part of the formation as long as beeing transported"

7) If the Craft has to withdrawl, can the formation inside withdrawl out of the craft (as long as there are not DC x 2 bases in contact with the Craft)?

So far MY opinion on these questions is:
1) yes, 2) as everything is counted as one formation, I would vote for no, 3) yes, 4) yes, 5) they are dead , 6) yes, 7) yes
Is this correct?
:sos

_________________
My blog - A man without a mountain of unpainted lead is no real man!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:21 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
Largo_W wrote:
Hey there, I have a couple of questions. right away:

The situation is as follows:
A landing Craft is placed on the table, next to an enemy formation. The Marine player does some stuff, initative passes and the Craft has still a formation inside. The enemy has the opportunity to attack the craft. Now the questions arise:

1) The formation inside may exit the Craft as a Counter Charge Move as long as there are not damage capacity times two bases in contact with the Landing Craft already, correct?


correct
Quote:
2) IF the formation exits, does the whole formation has to leave as it is a different formation as the Craft?
yes, you cannot partially embark/disembark a formation

Quote:
3) Is the formation allowed to do a counter charge?
I believe so
Quote:
Next up, combat resolution. The Marine player loses the Assault by one. Now, the assaulted formation is broken. Additional, after allocating the Hack Down Hits, the Aircraft would be destroyed - but is fearless. A fearless landed aircraft is counted as a fearless ground unit with a movement of Zero.

4) Is the aircraft still destroyed if there is at least one enemy base in five centimeters AFTER the Craft breaks but BEFORE the enemy does his consolidation movement? The reasoning for this is the Withdrawl Move which fails to move out of 5cm.


no, fearless units only suffer hackdown hits if they elect to move and remain within 5cm, if they choose to remain where they are, they suffer no damage
Quote:
5) In case the formation inside elected to stay inside - what happens? Does everybody get a save or are they destroyed as they are inside an aircraft beeing destroyed (4.2.5) ?


assuming the landing craft is destroyed through damage, as the aircraft counts as a ground unit, they would get a save, however if the landing craft suffers a critical hit, any units on board would be destroyed

Quote:
6) Is the formation, if it elected to stay inside, broken? Given the fact that it is indeed an another formation, completely unrelated to the Craft apart from beeing transported, this may the case. Could be I am missing a rule here, like "it counts as part of the formation as long as beeing transported"


if the engager did not consider the formation intermingled, then I would say it remains unbroken

Quote:
7) If the Craft has to withdrawl, can the formation inside withdrawl out of the craft (as long as there are not DC x 2 bases in contact with the Craft)?


if we're talking war engines which can actually move, it could drop the embarked units as part of its withdrawal in the same way as normal transports can pick up/drop off units in a withdrawal

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 6:55 pm
Posts: 803
Okay, I saw that part about not beeing forced to move. But what then? I am not allowed to be inside of the ZOC of the craft. So I have to move out with my consolidation, correct?

_________________
My blog - A man without a mountain of unpainted lead is no real man!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 5:55 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Largo_W wrote:
Okay, I saw that part about not beeing forced to move. But what then? I am not allowed to be inside of the ZOC of the craft. So I have to move out with my consolidation, correct?

Yes

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:02 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
no you don't..... there is nothing forcing you to consolidate

in fact later in the turn, you could engage the LC and would get supporting CC attacks... this was discussed previously here

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:28 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 6:55 pm
Posts: 803
And when the broken, immobile fearless unit rallies, it next activation must be assault, correct?

_________________
My blog - A man without a mountain of unpainted lead is no real man!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:10 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Where a WE is transporting another formation, I believe the convention is that they are automatically intermingled and count as a single formation. The reasoning is that this makes the whole situation less complex than is the case where they may be considered separate from the WE.

It is still possible to 'lock up' the transported troops so the attackers then only attack the transport, and the transported formation is broken if the WE formation (and contents) lose the assault. Note while the transported troops may not fight, they do count in the assault resolution including BMs and inspiring characters etc.

If the WE transport and contents win the assault, the enemy must withdraw so there is no need to consolidate, though the contents may use the WE consolidation to disembark.

If the WE and contents lose the assault, while a Fearless WE transport does not need to withdraw, its Broken contents must withdraw and risk being destroyed if they cannot move outside 15cm of enemy units. Troops may disembark a WE at the end of the WE Withdrawal movement even if that is 0cm, which means that the disembarked troops may then move a single withdrawal move away from the WE. (Units making a withdrawal move may also embark onto a WE as part of the move, but consolidating onto the WE air-transport prevents it from disengaging).

If the Fearless LC did not disengage and then successfully rallied inside the ZoC of an enemy unit, it would be required to assault that unit (as the LC cannot move away from the ZoC)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 8:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
The one thing I've wondered (and its obscure enough to never come up) is, if a fearless immobile unit is inside a ZoC and fails its activation, what is it allowed to do? Can it regroup, or must it take the move option even though it no more allows the unit to move out of ZoC than shooting or regrouping does?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 8:56 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 6:55 pm
Posts: 803
I guess it must take the Move option as it is forced to do so in the first place.

_________________
My blog - A man without a mountain of unpainted lead is no real man!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 2:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 3:12 pm
Posts: 867
Yeah I'd say it would be forced to move 0cm in that situation.

_________________
@MephistonAG for all sorts of twitter madness


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions concerning Fearless Aircraft and Transpo
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 3:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
MephistonAG wrote:
Yeah I'd say it would be forced to move 0cm in that situation.

It makes sense, but in that case you could ask why it is not allowed to choose another action like advance, which also allows a move?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net