Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

A lot of Questions.

 Post subject: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 8:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:58 pm
Posts: 81
Quote:
2.1.20
Support Craft

Support Craft are much like a hybrid between a Skimmer and an
Aircraft. They remain high up in the air, hovering over the
battlefield, firing over intervening terrain when possible. Support
Craft function identically to a Skimmer unit that is always
‘popped up’. Support Craft fire and are fired at normally (i.e.
anti- aircraft ability is not required). In an assault, Support Craft
automatically force a firefight in the same manner Skimmers may
choose. It is assumed that Support Craft transports or the troops
they carry are appropriately equipped to embark and disembark
troops as normal


hmmm...i have a Question... if i take the "sustain fire or Overwatch"-Order on my Support Craft which is always popped up, would it trigger overwatchfire?

Quote:
Skimmer:

A skimmer may declare that it is popping up at the start of any
action that it takes, including when the skimmer goes into
overwatch. A skimmer may not pop up as part of a sustained fire
action or a marshal action, but may pop-up when it goes onto
overwatch.

Why i can not take a marshal action and pop up? If i want, i could use the movment in the marshal action.

Quote:
Macro Weapons
Hits from macro-weapons can only be applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro-
weapon


Hmm, i have an unit Termminator with Chaplain ( 2 MW Attacks) and an unit Tactical Space Marines in close Combat against other units. I hit with both MW- attacks. Can i apply one MW hit to the enemy unit which is in CC with the Marine unit? Or can i only hit units which are in CC with the Terminators?


Single Shot

I have a Formation with two Deathstrike Missile Launcher with one Blastmarker.

if i decide to shot with both Launchers, would both shots be used? Even with the supression?

Can i decide to shot only with one unit or have i always to shot with the whole Formation?

Thanks for help.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:56 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Örebro, Sweden
Quote:
Quote:
2.1.20
Support Craft

Support Craft are much like a hybrid between a Skimmer and an
Aircraft. They remain high up in the air, hovering over the
battlefield, firing over intervening terrain when possible. Support
Craft function identically to a Skimmer unit that is always
‘popped up’. Support Craft fire and are fired at normally (i.e.
anti- aircraft ability is not required). In an assault, Support Craft
automatically force a firefight in the same manner Skimmers may
choose. It is assumed that Support Craft transports or the troops
they carry are appropriately equipped to embark and disembark
troops as normal


hmmm...i have a Question... if i take the "sustain fire or Overwatch"-Order on my Support Craft which is always popped up, would it trigger overwatchfire?


No I don't think so, it's the movement of the pop-up that triggers a overwatch fire. Support craft are allready poped up. I wouldn't count it as movement at least.

Quote:
Quote:
Skimmer:

A skimmer may declare that it is popping up at the start of any
action that it takes, including when the skimmer goes into
overwatch. A skimmer may not pop up as part of a sustained fire
action or a marshal action, but may pop-up when it goes onto
overwatch.

Why i can not take a marshal action and pop up? If i want, i could use the movment in the marshal action.

I guess for balance reasons? I'm not sure. Yes you can use the movement but then you don't get to shoot.

Quote:
Quote:
Macro Weapons
Hits from macro-weapons can only be applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro-
weapon


Hmm, i have an unit Termminator with Chaplain ( 2 MW Attacks) and an unit Tactical Space Marines in close Combat against other units. I hit with both MW- attacks. Can i apply one MW hit to the enemy unit which is in CC with the Marine unit? Or can i only hit units which are in CC with the Terminators?


I'm not sure I understand your example, but CC hits, regular as well as MW, can hit any unit in the target formation not just the ones in base-to-base contact. Assaults are much abstracted in epic.

GrrArgh wrote:
Single Shot

I have a Formation with two Deathstrike Missile Launcher with one Blastmarker.

if i decide to shot with both Launchers, would both shots be used? Even with the supression?

Can i decide to shot only with one unit or have i always to shot with the whole Formation?

Thanks for help.


You could shoot with just one as the other is suppressed. There is no requirement to shoot both at the same time.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
    Quote:
    2.1.13 Skimmer, 3rd para
    "A skimmer may declare that it is popping up at the start of any action that it takes, including when the skimmer goes into overwatch. A skimmer may not pop up as part of a sustained fire action or a marshal action, but may pop-up when it goes onto overwatch. Popping up counts as movement for the purposes of triggering firing by enemy units on overwatch."

  1. OW fire is only triggered by movement or disembarking troops. Since the Support Craft is 'always popped-up' taking a "Sustain" or "OW" action does not trigger OW fire.
  2. From the quote above you may not pop-up as part of a Marshall move.
  3. MW hits are allocated and resolved after all "normal hits". So where a target unit is close enough to be allocated both, it must test to survive the 'normal' hit first and if successful it tests again to survive the MW hit.
  4. Single shot and suppression:- Where a formation has one or more BMs, that number of units are suppressed from the rear (Note the Space marine exception). Where the Death Strikes have a BM, only one may fire. In a later turn, if the loaded Death Strike is at the rear of the formation and the single BM is still there, then the formation may not fire that missile - the empty unit is not suppressed but does not have a missile to fire (single shot), and the loaded unit is suppressed so may not fire. However the loaded unit may fire if their positions were reversed, with the loaded unit in front of the (suppressed) empty unit.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:02 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
GrrArgh wrote:


Quote:
Skimmer:

A skimmer may declare that it is popping up at the start of any
action that it takes, including when the skimmer goes into
overwatch. A skimmer may not pop up as part of a sustained fire
action or a marshal action, but may pop-up when it goes onto
overwatch.

Why i can not take a marshal action and pop up? If i want, i could use the movment in the marshal action.


You do not need to "pop up" to move on a marshal. "popping up" is used for drawing line of sight over terrain whilst shooting (or being shot at), Skimmers ignore terrain whilst moving "pop up" has nothing to do with that part of movement.

Quote:
2.1.13 Skimmers
Some units are noted as being skimmers. These units are equipped
with devices that allow them to hover a short distance above the
ground, so that they can fly over terrain that would slow other
units down. Note that skimmers do not follow any of the rules
for aircraft in section 4.0.
Skimmers may ignore dangerous or impassable terrain as they
move. They may not land on impassable terrain, and if they land
in dangerous terrain they must take a dangerous terrain test.
Skimmers may also move over other friendly units as they move,
but may not land on them. Enemy units and zones of control
affect skimmers normally


Quote:
Quote:
Macro Weapons
Hits from macro-weapons can only be applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro-
weapon


Hmm, i have an unit Termminator with Chaplain ( 2 MW Attacks) and an unit Tactical Space Marines in close Combat against other units. I hit with both MW- attacks. Can i apply one MW hit to the enemy unit which is in CC with the Marine unit? Or can i only hit units which are in CC with the Terminators?


In an engagement anything within 15cm of the attackers are classed as "Directly Involved" and therefore are in a position to be allocated a hit. All CC and FF attacks are classed as hits (War Engine attacks/hits are an exception) and then those hits are allocated to units starting with nearest first out to any unit "directly Involved" in the engagement.
CC MW attacks used to be rolled for after normal attacks were rolled, allocated and saves rolled. This was changed in the official rules update to them being rolled at the same time as normal attacks but still allocated after normal hits.
With the ability to hit units up to 15cm away wth CC MW it has become known as the "flying powerfist" .


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:28 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
GrrArgh,
Put another way, the act of 'popping-up' is considered to be movement. A Marshall action may only take a single movement, not two (pop-up and then move), so you may not Pop-up to fly over nearby terrain as part of a Marshall action. For the same reason, you may not pop-up and Sustain because that action does not use any movement.
The exception to this is that you *may* pop-up as part of taking an OW action - though that also means that enemy on OW may fire on your formations as they do this.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:35 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Ginger wrote:
GrrArgh,
Put another way, the act of 'popping-up' is considered to be movement. A Marshall action may only take a single movement, not two (pop-up and then move), so you may not Pop-up to fly over nearby terrain as part of a Marshall action. For the same reason, you may not pop-up and Sustain because that action does not use any movement.


A skimmer does not need to "pop up" to move over terrain, it ignores terrain it moves over. "popping up" is used for line of sight purposes to shoot over terrain.
The no pop up for marshal in the FAQ is for pop up shooting on a marshal
Quote:
Q: Can a Skimmer which fails its action and decides to fire as part of its Hold
Action pop-up and fire?
A: No. The formation may not move and therefore may not pop up.

There would be no need to pop up when marshaling as you would just go up and down on the spot then remove BM's. If you want to move as part of a marshal action you can, skimmers ignore terrain features they pass over, you don't have to pop up to move over terrain.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Of course dptdexys is correct - my bad.
A skimmer may rise over terrain in each of it's moves, but lands each time unless it is 'popped up'. Here a Marshall (or Hold) only represents a single move, so the skimmer need not 'pop up' to clear the terrain.
However, if the Skimmer takes a double or march move and wants to avoid dangerous terrain tests, then it must declare itself to be 'popped up'. I hope that makes more sense.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
One quirk of the game; as "popped up" is only a rule for line of sight, technically I think a skimmer transport can discharge troops while popped up...

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:58 pm
Posts: 81
Thanks for the answers.

Supportcraft:
I thought as much,but i wanted to be sure.

Skimmers:
Narrghh.. when i can not shot, it is not need for pop up..ok...easy...

Macro Weapons:

Quote:
CC MW attacks used to be rolled for after normal attacks were rolled, allocated and saves rolled. This was changed in the official rules update to them being rolled at the same time as normal attacks but still allocated after normal hits.


What's the difference between the old and new rules?

Quote:
With the ability to hit units up to 15cm away wth CC MW it has become known as the "flying powerfist"

Jeah, powerfistshooting Terminators.. Ok...

i can only hit units with the MW (CC or FF, it is not important),if the target is in Range (15cm) of the Unit with the MW abillity.

Is that right?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
zombocom wrote:
One quirk of the game; as "popped up" is only a rule for line of sight, technically I think a skimmer transport can discharge troops while popped up...


Skimmers cannot embark or disembark troops whilst popped up.
Quote:
A skimmer that has popped up, ‘pops down’ at the conclusion of
the action. Skimmers on overwatch do not pop down until after
they make their overwatch attack. Skimmers with a transport
capacity may not embark or disembark units while they are
popped up, and if they are destroyed while they are popped up
then any units on board will be destroyed with no save.



Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:31 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
GrrArgh wrote:
Macro Weapons:

Quote:
CC MW attacks used to be rolled for after normal attacks were rolled, allocated and saves rolled. This was changed in the official rules update to them being rolled at the same time as normal attacks but still allocated after normal hits.


What's the difference between the old and new rules?


In the old rules all normal CC and FF attacks were rolled for and any hits were then allocated and saving rolls made. Then any MW attacks were rolled for, if there were any units still in base to base with the units with MW CC attacks (now they are rolled at the same time, before any allocation). This meant a lot of times players were removing casualties from base to base with the enemy with MW CC attacks still to come, which lead to wasted MW a lot of times.

Quote:
Quote:
With the ability to hit units up to 15cm away wth CC MW it has become known as the "flying powerfist"

Jeah, powerfistshooting Terminators.. Ok...

i can only hit units with the MW (CC or FF, it is not important),if the target is in Range (15cm) of the Unit with the MW abillity.

Is that right?


Almost, all hits, normal or MW, can be used against any unit that is "directly involved" in the assault, where they come from is not tracked on a stand by stand basis.
"Directly Involved" means they are within 15cm of attackers/defenders and part of the attacking or defending formation, not a supporting fire unit.
Most find the easiest way of remembering who is "directly involved" of the attacking or defending formation is did the unit have an attack in the assault, if yes it had to be within 15cm to get that attack and therefore was "directly involved".
"Directly Involved" can change after a drawn round of combat so can change going from a drawn round to the nest round of combat rolls due to casualties and counter charges.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:58 pm
Posts: 81
Quote:
In the old rules all normal CC and FF attacks were rolled for and any hits were then allocated and saving rolls made. Then any MW attacks were rolled for, if there were any units still in base to base with the units with MW CC attacks (now they are rolled at the same time, before any allocation). This meant a lot of times players were removing casualties from base to base with the enemy with MW CC attacks still to come, which lead to wasted MW a lot of times.


Okay.


Quote:
Almost, all hits, normal or MW, can be used against any unit that is "directly involved" in the assault, where they come from is not tracked on a stand by stand basis.
"Directly Involved" means they are within 15cm of attackers/defenders and part of the attacking or defending formation, not a supporting fire unit.
Most find the easiest way of remembering who is "directly involved" of the attacking or defending formation is did the unit have an attack in the assault, if yes it had to be within 15cm to get that attack and therefore was "directly involved".
"Directly Involved" can change after a drawn round of combat so can change going from a drawn round to the nest round of combat rolls due to casualties and counter charges.


And thats my problem....

You say, that there is no difference between the allocation of normal hits and MW hits. Both are allocated by the same rules. ok...but..why i read this in the Tourment Rules 2013?

Quote:
Macroweapons
Allocating Hits:
If an attacking formation scores hits both with normal weapons and weapons with the macro- weapon ability,
then the opposing player must allocate and make any saves for the normal hits first, and then allocate and make any saves for the macro-weapon hits. Hits from macro-weapons can only be
applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro- weapon
.


why the difference in the rules, if both types of hits are allocated the same way.

Normal Hits from can only be applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a normal weapon too. Its called "Directly Involved".

I know my english is...ähmmm... but i hope you understand my problem.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 12:02 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
GrrArgh wrote:

You say, that there is no difference between the allocation of normal hits and MW hits. Both are allocated by the same rules. ok...but..why i read this in the Tourment Rules 2013?

Quote:
Macroweapons
Allocating Hits:
If an attacking formation scores hits both with normal weapons and weapons with the macro- weapon ability,
then the opposing player must allocate and make any saves for the normal hits first, and then allocate and make any saves for the macro-weapon hits. Hits from macro-weapons can only be
applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro- weapon
.


why the difference in the rules, if both types of hits are allocated the same way.

Normal Hits from can only be applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a normal weapon too. Its called "Directly Involved".

I know my english is...ähmmm... but i hope you understand my problem.


I think I see what's confusing, the section you've quoted is for all MW attacks, ranged shooting as well as assaults. It looks as though you thought it was just for the assault allocation.

As an example take a mixed formation of 3xNormal and 2xTornado Land Speeders using thier ranged weapons.
If you got 2 AP hits (range of 30cm) and 1 MW hit (range 15cm) from your attacks, the AP hits would be placed and saved for first. The MW hit would then be placed but only if there was a unit of the target formation within 15cm still alive (the range of the Multi Melta). You could kill units that would have been in range of the MW before it was placed, range stretching is only supposed to be by weapon type (AP stretching AP, AT stretching AT, MW stretching MW and so on) AP nor AT range is supposed to be used to stretch MW range.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:15 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:58 pm
Posts: 81
Ok, but i can strech my "range (15cm direct involved)" for MW in an assault too..

Quote:
ranged shooting as well as assaults.


why is "strechting" possible in assaults and not in the shooting Phase.

And why is your answer not written in the rules for macro weapons.

Quote:
Macroweapons
Allocating Hits:
If an attacking formation scores hits both with normal weapons and weapons with the macro- weapon ability,
then the opposing player must allocate and make any saves for the normal hits first, and then allocate and make any saves for the macro-weapon hits. Hits from macro-weapons can only be
applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro- weapon
.


thanks for your patience


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: A lot of Questions.
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:38 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
GrrArgh wrote:
Ok, but i can strech my "range (15cm direct involved)" for MW in an assault too..

Quote:
ranged shooting as well as assaults.


why is "strechting" possible in assaults and not in the shooting Phase.


That's just how assaults work, all hits from CC and FF are pooled and then allocated.
Being in Base to Base contact is used to determine which attack stats are used.
You can have normal hits from CC, not just MW hits going on units not in base to base, another example could be 2 ork Nobs in Base contact with 2 units and hitting with all 4 attacks, the first 2 would be on the units in base contact the next 2 would go on the next 2 nearest units even though they are not in base contact.
If you have your Rule Book handy check the designers notes section it explains what, how and why an engagement works as it does, a kind of swirling mess not a static assault.
Quote:

And why is your answer not written in the rules for macro weapons.

Quote:
Macroweapons
Allocating Hits:
If an attacking formation scores hits both with normal weapons and weapons with the macro- weapon ability,
then the opposing player must allocate and make any saves for the normal hits first, and then allocate and make any saves for the macro-weapon hits. Hits from macro-weapons can only be
applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro- weapon
.


thanks for your patience


I'm not fully sure what you mean by not written in the rules.
If you have the Rule Book, allocating MW hits follows the rules for MW, Shooting attacks,Barrages and Assaults and is for all of them the net EA tournament book has the sections on different pages but are still the same rules.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net