IJW Wartrader wrote:
Indeed. Earlier bits of the assault rules make quite a big thing of distinguishing between the two phrases:
'1.12.3 Make Charge Move
A formation undertaking an engage action is allowed to make one move (not a double distance move as is the case in many sets of wargame rules, not least many Games Workshop games), and then fights an assault against the enemy formation that was chosen as the target of the charge. This move is known as the charge move.'
Emphasis not added by me.
So 1.12.5 contains a typo one way or another, either it's 'charge move' or 'engage action'. Given that the justification is leaving cover to charge the enemy I still think 'charge move' makes more sense in the context.
Calling the Engage Action move a Charge Move (to differentiate between a normal move) is what allows you to enter a ZofC to get into base contact.
Quote:
Also, if it's 'engage action' you get the absurd situation where an engaging formation that didn't move at all (already in firefight range) doesn't get cover saves while units counter-charging 10cm get cover saves. That's the kind of rule that destroys suspension of disbelief during a game.

The engage whilst staying still is already covered in the overwatch and movement FAQ sections.
A move, even if the player moves 0 is still considered a move.
From overwatch section,
Quote:
Q: Is a formation that is allowed to move as part of an action, but which
decides to remain stationary, considered to be moving for the purposes of
triggering Overwatch fire? For example, if I take an Engage action, but don’t
move any units as they are already within firefight range of the enemy, can
my opponent make an Overwatch attack before the Assault takes place?
A: Yes, to both the question and the example. Overwatch is triggered when an
enemy formation “completes a move”. Formations that could move but
remain stationary have still “completed a move” and are therefore eligible
targets.
From Movement scetion,
Quote:
Q: One of the FAQ entries draws a conclusion that seems overly broad to me.
Section 1.7.1 talks about various orders allowing formations to move. The
Overwatch section of the FAQ rules that any time a formation is allowed to
move, it must move.
A: You can move zero, if you wish, but that is still considered a move. You
don’t have to move. In fact, some orders like Sustained Fire require you to
stay stationary. Other than that order, you are merely moving zero.
Withdrawls are different, in that they are optional movement. If you choose
not to move, you have not moved and do not allow a formation in
overwatch to activate against you.
When a unit does break, it does choose where and if to withdraw. I
personally advance my broken formations. There is a chance they may
unbreak next turn and it provides consternation to my opponent. However,
if you end your move (and yes, you can still move zero) within 15 cms of an
enemy, the unit is destroyed.