RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? |
ferrumvir
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:36 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:50 pm Posts: 50 Location: Nottingham, England
|
Hi Hena,
1. I thought not, that being the point of independance! If you could, then a way of keeping GS alive would be to put them in a swarm!
2. It does not matter what you use to maintain coherency, so TW can be ~30cm apart and gap filled with broods. I actually thought that was what you mean by your bloby formation in one of the other threads, I thought it quite a cool idea, up til now I've kept them together in the center (mainly for their own protection) but know I think it's probably the best way to herd your opposition into CC. There is certainly no constraint mentioned in the main rule book.
Cheers Scott
_________________ Tyranids 5.40B - (w/d/l) 5/2/2
|
|
Top |
|
 |
ragnarok
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:49 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:43 pm Posts: 2084 Location: Reading, England
|
Just to add my own claification wishes
What are the experimental BP for EX, EO and BV (i think it is 2,1 and AP/AT something)
Also should the EO have RA? It doesn't have it but all the other tank bugs do. (using V5.40b 30may05 update)
_________________ Tyranid air marshal
|
|
Top |
|
 |
ragnarok
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:37 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:43 pm Posts: 2084 Location: Reading, England
|
Hena: Btw. is that Update you speak the one that Jaldon posted? |
It's the first one linked to in the V5.40b thread, I just gave its entire title so that people knew which one I used.
With the 'vores, isn't the AT a tad high I would of gone of AP4+(5+)/AT5+.
_________________ Tyranid air marshal
|
Top |
|
 |
Markconz
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:03 pm |
|
Purestrain |
 |
 |
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 10:43 pm Posts: 7925 Location: New Zealand
|
Quote (Hena @ 19 Oct. 2005 (04:16)) | Quote (Markconz @ 19 Oct. 2005 (01:08)) | Quote (Hena @ 17 Oct. 2005 (05:08)) | 2. In formation it is not necessary to keep same type within 5cm of each other? Eg. Tyranid warriors can be kept over 5cm from each other. |
2. I think the tyranid warriors have to remain within 5cm of each other. There is nothing stating that they are a special exception to this rule. ?There is also no reason that a brood of synapse creatures should be able to increase its area of synpase and control just because lesser tyranid creatures are under their control. |
The rules speak that everyone in the formation has to be under 5cm form each other. Since the formation is determined from all bugs in swarm there actually is no reason for warriors to be within 5cm from each others. Or am I looking at the wrong part the rules...
1.2.1 Formations All units must be organised into formations at the start of the game. The scenarios included in these rules will tell you what formations each side may use. If you are devising your own scenario then you must decide what formations the units taking part will fight in before the battle begins.
Every unit in a formation must be no further than 5cm from at least one other unit in the same formation. In addition, all units must form a ?chain? without any gaps of more than 5cm. Sometimes the units in a formation will become separated due to enemy fire or assault. When this happens, the formation must close back up again into a legal formation when it next takes an action (see 1.6.1). |
| HI Hena, sorry the list i am using (5.40B) refers to section 1.2.1 (leftover from previous editions I think) but doesn't contain a 1.2.1! What list version do you have?
Instead 5.40b states that:
"Tyranid units must be organized into swarms at the start of the game and and at the start of each turn after the first one. All the units in the swarm will operate together as a single formation until the start of the Tyranid player?s next turn. At the start of the game simply assign one or more brood units to each a synapse creature until all the broods have been assigned; each such swarm must be set up as a ?legal? formation using the set up instructions for the scenario.
Starting with the second turn a swarm consists of _one_ synapse creature formation and all the brood units within 15cms of a unit from that synapse creature formation. Brood units within 15cms of two synapse creature formations will join the swarm belonging to the closest one."
Regardless this is something that needs to be sorted out for 5.45b. My immediate preference would be that tyranid warriors (the only synapse creature that comes in formations of more than one unit), have to remain within 5cm of each other - it makes little sense theat they can spread out further just because lesser tyranid creatures come under their control.
|
Top |
|
 |
Jaldon
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:33 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am Posts: 720 Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
|
In the original Tyranid list JJ's ruling was that the Synapse Creatures were to be treated As a formation that granted control to the little buggers. So the Synapse Creatures had to stay within 5cms of each other as per coherancy rules and little buggers were not included, and the little buggers under control had to be in Synapse Range and In Coherancy of another unit in the swarm, including Synapse Creatures. It's present wording is little different then the original.
At this time I do not believe that Maksim has changed it, though he has changed the way Synapse Formations can operate so only he can give you an official ruling at this time.
Independant Broods cannot join a swarm, this has been the standard also since day one, and is a JJ edict. I haven't seen this changed by Maksim either. Again only he can lay down an official ruling.
Jaldon 
_________________ Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.
|
|
Top |
|
 |
ragnarok
|
Post subject: RULES: Clarifications? Independent Units? Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:46 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
 |
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 2:43 pm Posts: 2084 Location: Reading, England
|
Ive been looking at bodyguarding the dominatrix, however it is just too expensive. I dom and a few guards eat up half the points.
As for the definition of a formation by using the synpase ceature, i've had an idea. Since the formation is defined by what is near a synpase creature surly hive nodes arn't destroyed if their broods go charging off across the board. Since they are the formation.
_________________ Tyranid air marshal
|
|
Top |
|
 |