Tactical Command

Commissar placement within infantry formations?
Page 2 of 2

Author:  Dave [ Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commissar placement within infantry formations?

It does:

Eight Chaos Space Marines, one with a Chaos Lord or Sorcerer Lord character

Commissars rule allows for putting a Commissar in the SC's formation:

If the army includes a Supreme Commander than the first Commissar must be attached to the Supreme Commander’s formation.

Upgrades are part of that formation.

And yes, SM characters can go in any unit in a formation as well.

Author:  jimmyzimms [ Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commissar placement within infantry formations?

dptdexys wrote:
Graf_Spee wrote:
so without wanting to sound stupid a sm chaplain may be used to upgrade a dreadnought?


Sort of. The correct answer is: "It depends on the list".
If we're discussing White Scars then that's absolutely not allowed (as they can't take any dreadnoughts). If instead the discussion was about Iron Hands then the answer is instead, "They CAN ONLY be with Dreadnoughts".

This is not me being pedantic (for once) either. The point is that the discussion here keeps pivoting on the WRONG POINTS. EA does NOT have rules about what characters can be put where and how and when (it DOES have rules about the cumulative effects of characters in a unit). Those type of discussions are 100% left to the individual lists. That's why it's wrong to say something like "Commissars Must Do XYZ" versus "In List ABC, Commissars Must/May/Can do XYZ".

That being said, most lists work in a broadly similar fashion when grouped by faction though outliers exist.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group