Login |  Register |  FAQ

Making Orks Work

Post subject: Making Orks Work
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:35 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

ok, im an ork player to the core, i have over 15,000 points of 40k scale orks, i also have a 3,000+ point ork fleet in BFG, an Orc team in bloodbowl, as well as a growing Orc army in Warhammer fantasy. hell, im even sketching out an ork TATTOO for my left arm for the spring.

my first game of epic was with orks naturally, i amassed a good sized force and went to learn, and it SUCKED. i think i missed the boat on how to use orks because they always were breaking and not killing much.

now i have some experience with the game, i want to start orks again but not until i get a good grasp from the vets on how to use them. i like gargants, i LOVE gargants i should say, i have 2 stompas and 2 gargants in 40k scale, so i would naturally lean towards them in epic, but what are some fundamentals to remember when playing orks in epic? do i have to lose my 40k metnality of them?

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Quote: (studderingdave @ 03 Jan. 2009, 13:35 )

do i have to lose my 40k metnality of them?

Can you explain what your 40k mentality of them is?

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

strength in numbers mostly. my main ork tactic in a 40k game is to swamp the opponenet with 3 large units of boyz, with 9 killa kans up front and ghazkull calling the waaagh for the final charge on turn 2 or 3. with fast movers like stormboyz riding up the flanks and kommandos coming in from behind to tighten the noose.

can orks in epic work well without large numbers? or is that a staple for them? either way i wouldnt mind.