Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Legio Gryphonicus(NetEA v3.23) V’s Biel-Tan Craftworld

 Post subject: Re: Legio Gryphonicus(NetEA v3.23) V’s Biel-Tan Craftworld
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:00 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:30 pm
Posts: 4234
Location: Greenville, SC
Thanks for the report! That was pretty painful on the AMTL side. Did you feel the result was just bad luck with the dice or that the matchup itself was unbalanced?

_________________
-Vaaish


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Legio Gryphonicus(NetEA v3.23) V’s Biel-Tan Craftworld
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:44 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:12 am
Posts: 105
Location: Bundaberg, Qld., Australia
As if you have any other kind :- ). If the Eldar can win, then maybe my poor Orks will have a slim chance on Tuesday night! At least against me the rolls are equally bad for both sides.
I picked you up 30 blast markers in Brisbane.
Nice AAR. Wish I'd been there.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Legio Gryphonicus(NetEA v3.23) V’s Biel-Tan Craftworld
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Nice report as always, though I have a couple of observations :-
  • In the first LG action, the Reaver shot the Shining spears killing two and laying 4x BM.
    4 actions / photos later shows the Shining Spears with at least 7x units and no BMs (and again in the subsequent engage action in Turn #2, action #4).
    This may have been an oversight, though it seems to have allowed the Shining Spears to start the engagement with greater unit numbers and at "0" on the resolution (the penalty for BMs offsetting the inspired characters). While they were still likely to win given numbers, it may have been a lot closer.

    However, the engagement raises a more important point that ruins, woods etc limit Line of Sight to 10 cm. At least 3 of the dead sentinels seem to be on the second terrain piece so would not have been able to be shot at, which in turn would reduce the likelihood of losing the entire formation - unless the dice were exceptional (which may well have been the case given report comments . . . :D )

  • At the end of the 1st turn, the Vampire containing the Striking Scorpions flies in and assaults a Warhound. On a technical note, the Scorpions are part of the assault, they don't "give support". More importantly they are declared to consolidate back into a Vampire which then disengages
    (the disengagement is not declared, but the Vampire flies back in Turn 2, action #16, and this is repeated in Turn 3, action #12).

    Unfortunately it is not legal to consolidate back into an air-transport and then have the transport disengage. This is not part of the original rules but was added later in amendments, precisely because the 'eternal air-assault' was discovered to be far too powerfull. The dramatic power of the 'eternal air assault' is shown by this game, where the Vampire and Scorpions do this three times, breaking a formation each time . . . ;)

All in all, the dice may not have been 'with the AMTL', but nor were the rule interpretation :D


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net