(Chroma @ Nov. 11 2007,20:23)
QUOTE
"Additionally, a formation may move ?into? a Portal, placing that formation once more in the reserves as part of its activation. "
Would that be with a consolidate move if the Necron formation had been the one to initiate an assault?
I asked about this a week or two ago. Consolidation moves are legal means to enter portals. The specific situation I asked about would take 3 portals, but you could assault out of one portal, consolidate into a second, and reposition out of a third. If you had portals pre-positioned, that would allow: Assault w/ 2 Monoliths in support, reposition with the consolidate, retain and assault with the third Monolith with the formation in support.
I suspect it would be very difficult to pull off, but if you did, it would be nasty (as any challenging maneuver should be).
The portal rules are just written with respect to "moves" so presumably, withdrawal moves could use portals as well. Leaving the board could save a broken formation from hackdown hits if you didn't have a better use for the portal.