Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
War Engines and DTT http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=24316 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Spectrar Ghost [ Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines and DTT |
Have we ever clarified how WEs interact with the DTT? By the RAW it seems they would be destroyed outright, but it also seems from the discussions I've been able to find that many/most play that it removes 1 DC. This second is also the most sensible to me. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:10 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
Quote: 3.1 WAR ENGINE MOVEMENT War engines follow the same movement rules as any other unit. War engines that fail a dangerous terrain test suffer a hit (see the damage rules below). Quote: 3.2.2 War Engine Damage Capacity Unlike normal vehicles, war engines are able to absorb more than one hit before they are destroyed. The number of hits a war engine can take is shown by its damage capacity. Each hit that is not saved will reduce the war engine’s damage capacity by 1 point, and the war engine is only destroyed once its damage capacity is reduced to 0. Place one Blast marker on the war engine’s formation for each point of damage that it suffers. Hope this helps. |
Author: | Spectrar Ghost [ Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:33 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
It does. You know, I'd never noticed that first sentence before. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
ight, now how many dice do they roll? :-P |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sun Dec 02, 2012 11:30 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
I've always played it as 1 d6 roll for terrain checks because of the following (highlighted the relevant parts) Quote: 1.8.1 Dangerous Terrain Test Roll a D6 when you enter dangerous terrain, or when you start to move if already in dangerous terrain. On a roll of 1, the unit is destroyed with no save allowed, but the formation it is part of does not receive a Blast marker. when coupled with this ( from section 3.0 War Engines). Quote: War engines include all very large machines, such as Ork Gargants, Imperial Titans, Imperial Guard Baneblades and Space Marine Thunderhawk Gunships. Because of their huge size and awesome toughness, war engines are very different to other units, and because of this many of the core game rules are modified when it comes to war engines. That said, the main difference between a war engine and a normal vehicle is that the war engine has a damage capacity (abbreviated DC) that shows how many ‘kills’ the war engine can absorb before it is destroyed. For example, a Warlord Titan has a DC of 8, and it therefore takes eight ‘kills’ to destroy it. For most rules purposes, a war engine counts as being ‘worth’ a number of units equal to its starting damage capacity, so a war engine’s starting damage capacity is also used to work out how many dice it rolls in an assault, how easy it is to pin and so on. This and all of the other modifications to the core game rules are described in detail as follows. As non of the modifications in this section or following sections mention rolling 1 d6 per DC then I take it as we stick with the core rule of 1 d6 when entering or start moving when in terrain. |
Author: | Borka [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
The rule also says nothing about the unit suffering a (one) hit it says that the unit is destroyed with no saves allowed. If the 1D6 roll is failed. If the rules are interpret like the 1D6 per unit/RAW wouldn't that also means that a WE that fails it's 1D6 DTT should be destroyed. It seems to me that most people just give them one lost damage point. Myself I'm not sure which way to interpret this issue. |
Author: | Ginger [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:24 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
check out the initial quote; WE suffer a (single) hit for DTT ![]() |
Author: | dptdexys [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:40 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
Quote: The rule also says nothing about the unit suffering a (one) hit it says that the unit is destroyed with no saves allowed. If the 1D6 roll is failed. From the rule book section 3.0 Quote: This and all of the other modifications to the core game rules are described in detail as follows. As section 3.1 states the following, Quote: 3.1 WAR ENGINE MOVEMENT War engines follow the same movement rules as any other unit. War engines that fail a dangerous terrain test suffer a hit (see the damage rules below). Why would that be added as a modification to the core rules if the core rule was to be played instead of this modified version. If the War Engine was to be destroyed as in the core rules then this section wouldn't have been added as it would make no sense to add something that wasn't to be used. Quote: If the rules are interpret like the 1D6 per unit/RAW wouldn't that also means that a WE that fails it's 1D6 DTT should be destroyed. It seems to me that most people just give them one lost damage point. See above. |
Author: | Borka [ Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:49 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
Yeah of course. I shouldn't be posting when I'm tired ![]() |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
My take on it is that the intro says WE count as a number of units equal to DC. That's the default. Anything when you are counting up numbers of units or there is a "per unit" effect would count DC = # of units. Or, in other words, for any aggregate effects DC = units. 1.8 dangerous terrain checks is written in terms of checking for each individual unit and the results affect that individual unit. *This* unit fails, so *this* unit is affected. Nothing references an effect based on total numbers or per unit or any sort of aggregate effect. 3.1 says WEs follow the same terrain rules as any other unit [singular]. To me, that means WEs should take one check. To contrast, the Teleport rules aggregate effects. The collection of BMs affects the formation as a whole. There's no individualized *this* unit gets *this* effect. It's one die per unit in the formation, and all are then affected equally. Obviously, not everyone agrees with those disparate interpretations. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:18 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
And to remind people, this is in the 2012 FAQs (work in progress). Anyone who wants to discuss the point is welcome to do so. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:24 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: War Engines and DTT |
Ginger wrote: check out the initial quote; WE suffer a (single) hit for DTT ![]() Indeed. I was aware before I asked the question that it was a point of contention, thus the smile icon. ![]() |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |