Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Quick question about planetfall
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=24164
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Ginger [ Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Quick question about planetfall

The point about Planetfalling is that it is a mechanic to put formations onto the table. So, yes the formations disembark from the transport (or drop pods etc).

Note, it is the spaceship that activates, so the landed transport and the other formations may all activate later in the turn. This also means that the transport/contents may not assault as part of planetfalling (as they did not activate).****

If they have landed in the wrong place, the other formation can use its activation to get back into the transport which can then disengage at the end of the turn (to carry out an air assault in the next turn).


**** Currently a few units may 'self-planetfall', which means that they perform their declared action on landing rather than having to carry out a separate activation. To do this, they declare any 'normal' activation (including an assault) while off-table. On activation they go through the planetfall process, and then they perform the declared action from that position on the table. Personally I think this revision to the planetfall rule should be removed for several reasons, but this has not yet happened.

Author:  Ginger [ Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Quick question about planetfall

The only formations that may 'assault from space' are those with 'self-planetfall'.

And yes, once the spaceship activation is concluded, the transport can support a nearby assault as usual. As the transport is landed it is a 'ground' formation, it may also initiate an assault on enemy within 15 cm.

Author:  Onyx [ Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Quick question about planetfall

Just to clarify this:
Quote:
Q:Can units transported by Planetfall (for example Assault troops in a Thunderhawk) disembark as soon as the transporting unit lands?

A:The intent of the Planetfall rule is that units landing via Planetfall get to land for free early in the turn, and then function as if they had been on the table since the start of the turn. This means that they can take their action later in the turn, as they won’t have used it up yet – they are literally counted as having done nothing during the current turn.
Units on board WE or other transport can choose to disembark immediately when they land or they can remain on board. If they choose to remain loaded they act as a normal mounted formation. Regardless of the choice to disembark or remain embarked, the formation may take an action on the turn it lands, as the process of landing and disembarking is free – in other words, just a way to get the units onto the table as part of the spacecraft’s activation. Note if a formation chooses to remain embarked on a War Engine transport, 3.1.3 will apply as normal.
From the FAQ.

The full Planetfall FAQ is on page 51 of the NetEA Tournament Pack 2012 and answers quite a few questions about this.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/