Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=23518 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Flogus [ Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
In rules, Planetfall do not speak about no-cargo aircraft. For exemple: the Eldar Vampire Hunter has no Transport capacity and has Planetfall ability. Do they enter on table by scatering, and then staying above the table, waiting to be activated ? |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:37 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
I'm guessing the planetfall ability there is a typo, and it shouldn't have it. |
Author: | Dave [ Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:59 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
From 4.4: Quote: Aircraft that land by planetfall are treated in the same manner as a landed aircraft (see 4.2.5), and they may take off again later in the game. So it lands and carries out a ground attack. Effectively you get avoid AA but have to preplot its arrival. You also need to ignore this little bit of text: Quote: Aircraft with a transport capability can land... In the end I guess we'll wait to see what Neal and his rules guys say. ![]() |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Fri Jun 29, 2012 5:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
It has no transport capacity. It therefore can't land, and its FF and CC ratings can never be used. |
Author: | madd0ct0r [ Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:46 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
that seems a weirdly unpermissive type of rule. granted, i can't think of many situations where a non-transport aircraft would land on the battlefield, but still |
Author: | brumbaer [ Sat Jun 30, 2012 7:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
madd0ct0r wrote: that seems a weirdly unpermissive type of rule. granted, i can't think of many situations where a non-transport aircraft would land on the battlefield, but still You could land it to claim crossfire. |
Author: | Steve54 [ Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:05 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
Planetfall on an objective end of turn 2 and then go on overwatch |
Author: | madd0ct0r [ Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:07 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
I meant in a real life scenario - although both those options are gamey, transport aircraft can do them too. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:15 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts |
I think it would be best to consider it a typo. The rules just say flat out that you have to have transport capacity to land. As far as I'm concerned, the landing rules are so wonky that letting any unit that's not explicitly allowed use them is a bad idea. Of course, if you use the "immediate disengage" fan rules, the problem disappears... ![]() |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |