Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
[design] Transport, WE and formations http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=22518 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | madd0ct0r [ Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:10 am ] |
Post subject: | [design] Transport, WE and formations |
Not exactly a question about in game use, but one about unit and list design. When creating a unit WE, AV and LV can all be transports. Theoretically, I suppose an INF unit could also be a transport, but I can't of many situations where it'd make sense. So far in the game there exists: AV transports that carry other members of their formation. LV the same. WE transports that carry other members of their formation (Battlefortresses, gorgons ect). These tend to have a note explicitly restricting them from carrying members of a different formation. WE transport formations that can carry other formations (Thunderhawks, Crawler Gargants ect) --- 1 Is there any accepted design rules for multiple units from one formation carrying units from another formation: eg a formation of gorgons or a formation of chimeras carrying a separate platoon? 2 Is there any accepted design rule for a war engine to carry multiple formations? 3 Is there any accepted design rule for a war engine that is part of a larger formation to carry units from a different formation? Eg 2 Valkyrie and 2 Vendettas are one formation. can the valkyries carry a separate stormtroopers formation? |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:17 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: [design] Transport, WE and formations |
To answer your questions: 1. No, non war engine formations can not transport other formations. E.G. a Land Raider formation can not decide to pick up a Devestator formation 2. Yes, if there is space they can do it, but you must be able to fit the whole formation into the war engine, no leaving Flakwagons to follow on behind. 3. No, as answer 1. |
Author: | madd0ct0r [ Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: [design] Transport, WE and formations |
so 3. can be done, but needs specifying in the list is and is generally discouraged. as for 2. - Hah! I never realized that. possibly a hangover rule from 40k in my brain. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:42 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: [design] Transport, WE and formations |
madd0ct0r: Your questions are flipping back and forth between normal (AV/LV) transports and WEs. Sometimes the answers are different. madd0ct0r wrote: 1 Is there any accepted design rules for multiple units from one formation carrying units from another formation: eg a formation of gorgons or a formation of chimeras carrying a separate platoon? Gorgons are WEs. Obviously, a WE formation can carry units from another formation as long as the embarked formation fits entirely within one of the WEs. There are a few exceptions explicitly noted as special rules which allow a WE formation to split an embarked formation across multiple WEs, such as the Scions Thunderhawk Transport. Otherwise, they have to stick with the 1 WE/entire formation restriction. Normal AV/LV transport, like Chimeras, cannot carry units from another formation at all. Quote: 2 Is there any accepted design rule for a war engine to carry multiple formations? The basic rules allow this. As Tim noted, as long as the embarked formations fit entirely within a single WE, they can be carried. As an example, a Thunderhawk could pick up 2 units of remnants of an Assault Marine formation, a single Terminator stand, and the 2 remaining Devastators of a third formation (assuming you could coordinate all that movement) because all of them would fit entirely within the Thawk at the same time. Quote: 3 Is there any accepted design rule for a war engine that is part of a larger formation to carry units from a different formation? Eg 2 Valkyrie and 2 Vendettas are one formation. can the valkyries carry a separate stormtroopers formation? Normal transports like Valkyries may not carry units from another formation. However, unless there is a rule which specifically excludes it, an attached WE could transport units from a second formation as long as it followed the normal rules, i.e. the embarked formation would fit entirely within the WE. That effect is actually the genesis of the "attached WE" rule applied to Ork battlefortresses. During playtesting, people were taking a Warband with 2 Battleforts attached, then loading up a second Warband into the empty Fort. That obviously allowed a tremendous amount of flexibility in terms of movement and combining/splitting formations. It was banned for Orks because it was uncharacteristic. Some army lists have followed that example with an explicit ban. Others have limited it by restricting the excess transport capacity available to formations, but left it technically possible (if rarely feasible). If I'm not mistaken, it's possible for a Krieg formation with Gorgon to load up the remnants of an Engineer formation into the Gorgon, though as far as I know it's never happened in a battle report. |
Author: | madd0ct0r [ Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:36 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: [design] Transport, WE and formations |
roger roger, good to know |
Author: | Simulated Knave [ Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:41 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: [design] Transport, WE and formations |
Wrong thread. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |