Quote:
2.1.13 Skimmer
General Commentary: The skimmer rules and FAQs have been addressed a number of times. However, they remain a source of confusion as each iteration of the rules have had wording that, taken literally, does note accurately reflect the intent. There are two criteria for judging the intended effects of the skimmer rule:
1) Popping up counts as movement (with the exception of going onto OW).
2) Skimmers which get the benefits of being “in” the terrain are required to take terrain checks.
For #1, if you can move, you can pop up. This includes moves that aren’t actually during an action, like countercharges.
For #2, this means that if you are loading troops or claiming any sort of cover modifier you have to enter the terrain and make appropriate terrain checks.
my wrong, i had read the #2 that while i didnt claimed any sort of cover or loaded any troops i didnt have to enter the terrain so would be considered to be hovering over the terrain. maybe this sentence in the faq should be clarified (maybe its just my sleepy mind wich need being "clarified")