Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Self-Planetfall

 Post subject: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:55 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
I noted that "self-planetfall" is included in the new army compendium, and I feel it ought to be heavily modified (or preferably removed) as it is essentially broken as a rule.

Planetfall is used to place formations on the table. to achieve this, a separate formation (Spacecraft) activates and the formations that have been deployed may subsequently activate normally; thus each formation only activates once during any given turn.

However "Self planetfall" permits the designated formation to activate twice, once to land, and a second time to do something on the table. It is this double activation that breaks the rule, quite apart from providing the capacity for numerous formations with this capacity to be deployed in this fashion throughout the game.

  • Is "self-planetfall" absolutely necessary?
    Personally I remain to be convinced. For most cases if not all, allowing the relevant armies to buy a spacecraft will provide the desired effect.
  • If the ability to make several such drops in a game is deemed 'vital', can we provide an alternative? EG.
    Quote:
    Overflight
    This works in exactly the same way as planetfall. Before the game, Landing zones are plotted by the player, and the turn that particular formations will use these landing Zones is declared. During the specified turn, The designated transport may activate to fly across the battlefield at high altitude, dropping formations it is carrying with "planetfall" ability. The planetfall rules are then followed to deploy the units within each formation near the designated landing Zone.
      Note
    1. The formations must start the game contained within the transport.
    2. The designated transport must use "overflight" as its first activation. Once the troops have been deployed, the transport may activate normally in the following turn.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:24 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:32 pm
Posts: 6414
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania USA
I've played with self planetfall ten or more times with the Dark Eldar. The results were gray. I won a little less than half the games and I still don't know if it was a huge boon to the army or not.

IMO it is one of those things that can be appropriately priced.

_________________
author of Syncing Forward and other stories...

It's a dog-eat-dog world, and I've got my Milkbone underwear on.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:15 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
um
the wording to me reads that the unit that self planetfalls "The formation’s action proceeds as normal in all respects from that point." which means they activate immediately upon dropping. no 2 activations, no double rolls to activate, just the drop and activation.
atleast, thats how i played it with the harakoni

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:39 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Well that is not really how it works, there is no mechanism that would allow the formation to be deployed on the table and then immediately do something, and it would be unfair to one or the other player if it did exist.

For self-planetfall, off-table formations cannot use any of the normal activations because they just do not apply; they have to use the "self-planetfall" activation. However RAW, the planetfalling process is only used to position the formation on the table; once this is completed the activation ends. If the player has six such formations, this process would allow 12 activations and the army would easily out-activate the opposition.

The alternative (as implied above) is for the player to declare an action, and then try to carry it out once the formation has landed and been 'scattered' by the planetfalling process. But the random scattering could easily render the declared action impossible, or a different action more desirable.

And please note I am not concerned with the cost of the ability, but rather the mechanics. I contend that Self-Planetfall should be removed altogether becasue it is broken as a rule; if necessary the Dark Eldar (and others) can just use Spaceships and Planetfall, and cost their formations accordingly. The alternative proposal is merely a variant on the single spacehip activation that permits multiple drops while adhering to the entire planetfall mechanism.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:11 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
no, the alternative interpretation would be that the only thing they can do is self planetfall that turn. they get their free 5cm movement to attempt to regain coherency, and then thats it.

absolutely nothing in the wording of the rules says or implies in any way that they get a second activation on the turn they arrive. certainy nothing to contradict the 'models only activate once' thing
either, they activate, planetfall, and perform an action
or they activate, planetfall, and dont.
there is no provision whatsoever for activate, planetfall, activate again, perform an action.

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 4:47 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
From 4.4 planetfall, 7th para
Quote:
Units that land by planetfall may take an action later in the turn. In effect the units land from the spacecraft when the spacecraft takes its action, and can take an action of their own later in the same turn.

While this explains about the Spacecraft for 'normal' planetfall, the fact that self-planetfall has no spacecraft would not prohibit the second move RAW.

I do understand your interpretation and it is certainly an alternative, though it is overly restrictive on the player and goes against the spirit of the rules. No other mechanic merely places the formations on the table; whether it arrives by teleport, flying on, portal etc, the formation gets the chance of doing something at some point during the turn. And I cannot imagine that others use this interpretation.

If they did, then surely this is actually another reason to scrap it altogether in favour of either the original rule (using a spacecraft) or some better mechanic.

(PS, I do not understand your reference to the 'free 5cm movement' unless you are referring to disembarking).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:45 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
I really don't see any complication with Self-Planetfall.
Quote:
Nominate the action for the formation and roll to activate. If the unit fails to activate its arrival is delayed to the next following turn. If the activation is successful, place the formation at the plotted landing zone and determine scatter according to Core Rules 4.4 as if it were a normal Planetfall, including loaded units disembarking up to 5cm. The formation’s action proceeds as normal in all respects from that point. In other words, the formation gets the “free move” from Planetfall placement at the beginning of its action but in all other ways activates as normal. Note: The action is chosen at activation, before scatter is determined. Choose the action carefully as a poor scatter role could render some actions ineffective.

It seems very clear what the intent of Self-Planetfall is.
It is a completely seperate rule from Planetfall and the 2 should not be looked at together.

One roll to activate (identifying the action the formation will take at this point).
Place the Self-Planetfalling formation on the table as plotted at the beginning of the game (determining scatter and deploying transported units if desired).
Immediately carry on with the activation as previously identified.

It all seems pretty straight forward to me.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 6:07 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
thanks onyx

this is my interpretation of the correct way to play this, as intended, in a little more detail;

you declare your intent to activate a formation using self planetfall.
you declare an action you intend to perform once they arrive.
you roll to activate the formation. if they succeed, move on, if not, they go back into reserve
they planetfall, you reveal where they where going to land, and scatter as normal
then they perform the activation as intended
then your activation is over.

have you actually read the wording in the compendium? it seems pretty clear to me

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 1:38 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
I agree that Self-Planetfall is fairly clear and doesn't allow two activations, but I also agree that it's not needed as a rule, given how few units actually use it (is it just the one?)

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 1:54 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
well its used in atleast two lists i can think of off the top of my head (dark eldar and harakoni) and several units and it is a good rule. honestly, i think that a number of other units currently with teleport to represent ambushes should possibly have it instead (lictors, for instance)

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:01 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Onyx wrote:
I really don't see any complication with Self-Planetfall.
One roll to activate (identifying the action the formation will take at this point).
Place the Self-Planetfalling formation on the table as plotted at the beginning of the game (determining scatter and deploying transported units if desired).
Immediately carry on with the activation as previously identified.

This is the correct interpretation. Just like a normal "onboard" formation, you declare an action and then roll to activate, proceeding with that action immediately upon arrival... the single Action Roll governs the success of both the landing and subsequent action.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:25 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
It's also used for the Manta in the Tau list.
Mantas are the perfect use of Self-Planetfall as they are spacecraft in their own right (all be it short range).

I see a use for the rule and I don't see an issue with it.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:38 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Units in the compendium use it so it stays.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Onyx wrote:
It's also used for the Manta in the Tau list.
Mantas are the perfect use of Self-Planetfall as they are spacecraft in their own right (all be it short range).


I'm pretty sure it was removed from the Manta quite a while ago.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Self-Planetfall
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 6:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
It's on the drop roks in the gargant bigmob list. Works well, too.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net