Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules Question: Charge Query http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=20166 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | frogbear [ Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:51 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Question: Charge Query |
This one came up in discussions we had so I thought I would bring it up here. Firstly, I have had the belief that the intermingled rule was there for a reason. It would appear however that RAW lessens the effect to formations that could not normally be reached. Here is the example: - I have an enemy formation to my left that is 10cm away. - I also have an enemy formation to my right that is 8 cm away - Effectively, I can nominate a charge to the formation on the left, and as long as I move one of my units within base contact of the formation of my right and keep unit coherency, I have effectively intermingled two enemy formations over 20cm apart from each other. If the above is true, the Intermingling rule of 5cm is only useful to include formations that you could not normally reach. Also, here is another example: A formation of manticores is protected by a screen of scouts 8cm out. I nominate a charge vs the Manticores and touch base with the scout screen yet am still within 15cm FF of the Maticores. Effectively this is also a successful charge and Intermingle outside of what I believed was the intention of the initial rule So is all the above correct. RAW mean that I can effectively ignore screens and the 5cm rule on Intermingling? |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:54 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Question: Charge Query |
You're not allowed to charge two enemy formations simultaniously unless they are within 5cm of each other (Intermingled). You can't charge two enemy formations that are 20cm apart from each other. |
Author: | frogbear [ Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:58 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Question: Charge Query |
Where does it state this or more importantly, where is the clarification? There is nothing in the rules that state one must move directly towards the nominated formation on a charge. More importantly, there is nothing to state that I cannot move units into other formations as part of the charge, as long as I keep coherency. I am just being the 'devil's advocate' here. I have never used the rule, however I think it is an important discussion to have for the sake of clarification. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:10 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Question: Charge Query |
If you engage the formation on the left, you can't move into the ZOC of the formation on the right (as you are not engaging it). You are only allowed to enter the ZOC of a formation you are engaging. So again you can't enter the scouts ZOC as they are not intermingled. The only exception is when you enter the targets ZOC before you enter another formations ZOC. This is to stop the 'screening from behind' that many people disliked. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:12 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Question: Charge Query |
From 1.12.3 Quote: Units making a charge move are allowed to enter enemy
zones of control in order to move into base contact with an enemy unit from the target formation. Moving into base contact allows the unit to fight with its close combat value rather than its firefight value, as described below. This is the only time a unit may enter an enemy zone of control. See the rules for zones of control (1.7.3). Note that charging units may not enter the zone of control of enemy units from another formation that is not the target of the assault. |
Author: | frogbear [ Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Question: Charge Query |
Very good. Serves me right for trying to read 3 different game systems at the same time. Thanks all. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |