I'm not stepping back in but as I've been catching up I've noticed several potential FAQs, so I thought I'd post them in here as a sort of "to do" list so nothing gets left out.
========
There was a proposal in the "Commander and the Eldar" thread to expand this FAQ:
Quote:
Q: If I have formations with differing Initiative values, which one do I use when activating them together (e.g. with a Commander)?
A: Use the activating formation (i.e. the commander’s formation)
to something like:
Quote:
A: Use the activating formation (i.e. the commander's formation). Aside from the -1 penalty noted in 2.1.2 for Blast Markers on the participating formations, only the bonuses and penalties for the commander's formation apply to the initiative roll.
From the 0cm move thread:
Quote:
Q: Can a 0cm move unit on a road claim the +5cm move bonus?
A: Yes and no. There is no clear distinction in the rules between 0cm move and truly immobile units. We recommend that units that could potentially be moved in an emergency situation, like field artillery pieces, be considered to have a move of 0cm. Truly immobile units such as a bunker in a scenario that has a unit data sheet should be considered as immobile under any circumstances.
A 0cm move unit would possibly benefit from the road movement bonus, allowing it to move 5cm per move. However, it may obviously not leave the road as it would then lose its bonus movement. Also, unit with a speed designated as “immobile” may not move, even on a road.
As always, if you anticipate any issue with this rule, for example you are playing Baran Siegemasters with many 0cm move units, go over it with your opponent during the 5 minute warm-up.
to add something like:
Quote:
If you cannot agree with your opponent on whether or not a particular unit should be allowed to claim a movement bonus, it cannot.
Although, reading over it now, the whole FAQ could use a bit of tidying up, or even a rewrite.
From the same thread, an additional proposed FAQ to the effect of:
Quote:
Q: The garrison rules in the GT scenario say a formation with a unit with speed 0 can garrison. Is a unit designated as "immobile" or "n/a" allowed to garrison?
A: Yes. Unless another rule clearly supercedes the deployment options (such as an aircraft having to deploy via reserves, not as a 0cm move ground unit), units designated "immobile" or "n/a" for movement garrison exactly as a 0cm move unit.
The defensive AA/jink question came up a couple times. I
think this is the answer we arrived at, but I haven't gone through all the threads to confirm.
Quote:
Q: When a jinking aircraft loses its "attack" does that include defensive AA attacks, or does it only mean the aircraft loses its normal shooting options?
A: The loss of attacks refers to the aircraft's normal shooting attacks - ground attack and intercept. It retains the ability to function in a ground assault and to fire defensive AA.
There may be a needed FAQ or two on fortifications from
this thread.
I also have notes that we need to go over the interactions of Charge Moves, ZoC, and Barging in a fair amount of detail:
general thread, and there was a lot of Krieg Gorgon discussions that I can't seem to locate.