Dave wrote:
I guess what I'm struggling with is why allow it all if it is possible, if not entirely easy to do, and can be used abusively? Wouldn't it just be simpler to disallow it by writing a FAQ that says that if you barge you stop moving when you reach your maximum base-contact allowance or have contacted the entire formation?
I have a number of questions. First is, why bother with something that never happens? This is pure theory at this point. There's no point in changing a rule that is never used in practice, just because it creates a weird thought experiment.
Then the second questions, even if it were to occur, is this really abusive? If a Warhound uses an Engage action to overrun a lone Scout unit, yanking it out of line so it can reach an objective, is that abuse? It doesn't seem that way to me. Or a Warlord titan dragging a Tactical formation along with it (like the Ewoks that tried to trip the Imperial walker in Jedi

)? I don't think so.
Quote:
Would a make a difference to troopers on the ground though? A non-scout that engages in FF with Scout support or a scout that engages in FF with non-scout support are pretty much the same when you take away the activation abstraction. All this would be happening in real-time.
Good point. And since the countercharge rules are already an exception to the charge rules, it would make sense that the "countercharge the nearest" requirement would override as an exception.
I can go with that.
Kyrt wrote:
I must admit I find the whole scout ZoC issue a bit confusing, I think the FAQ should be a bit more generic and address the priority of the various conflicting rules.
A good suggestion.
Kyrt wrote:
What happens if the formation fails its activation test? Since it can't satisfy both requirements of "move out of ZoC" and "may not enter ZoC", can it:
a) move out of ZoC, and can enter a second ZoC if it wishes
b) move as far as it can out of ZoC but without entering another ZoC
c) shoot or regroup
d) some combination of the above
e) nothing
This question has come up before in the case of 0cm move units, which can easily end up in this situation. In that case, they cannot move out at all, so the only option is to attempt to Engage. The obvious "what happens if they fail" question follows, and that was framed in terms of whether they were forced to Engage anyway.
We decided that even though they can't actually move out, they have to attempt to follow the rules to the best of their abilities. That would be b), above.