Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
barging transport war engine http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=32476 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Graf_Spee [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:49 pm ] |
Post subject: | barging transport war engine |
quick questions: 1. can for example a landing thunderhawk gunship whilst barging into a ground formation during an air assault forcible bring one enemy formation within 5cm of another enemy ground formation and declare intermingeld assault? or does the assault have to be declared upfront when the formations are more than 5cm away from each other. 2. can a flyer transport we actually barge and move enemy units? |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
Declaring intermingled formations happens before any movement/landing. You can't barge something into intermingled. Aircraft can barge, just like any WE. |
Author: | jimmyzimms [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
this is an area of contention that wasn't clear in the rules and never got an official FAQ. UK plays as not allowed. Not sure about AU. Everyone I've talked to in the US plays it as allowed because we're not silly and it's awesome to do ![]() Intermingled is declared prior to the assault. You can't barge into it AFAIK. edit: Ninja'd by Dave |
Author: | kyussinchains [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
UK plays that an aircraft transport can barge.... Just like everywhere else.... |
Author: | Graf_Spee [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:31 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
the question about barging with flying we crossed my mind as we can only barge as part of their assault move. flyers have no move once the are landed. so technically they cannot barge. before they are considered as flying and can not interfere physically with ground except for shooting at. my prefered option is that they can barge but from they rules point they actually shouldn't be able to do it ![]() |
Author: | jimmyzimms [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:42 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
kyussinchains wrote: UK plays that an aircraft transport can barge.... Just like everywhere else.... Ah maybe it was the Onyx preference. Or perhaps I'm mis-remembering the scout shield air assault. Meh I can't get any of this straight in my old age. Wait who are you? Where am I!!?!?!?! ![]() |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
I think you're remembering AC assaulting a formation in a scout's ZoC Jimmy. 4.2.5 has the barging bit covered Graf: Quote: If this option is chosen then the aircraft and any units that disembark may enter enemy zones of control as if they were charging. "As if they were charging" implies, to me at least, that it gets all the other charging rules as well (i.e. barging). |
Author: | Graf_Spee [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:30 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
Dave wrote: I think you're remembering AC assaulting a formation in a scout's ZoC Jimmy. 4.2.5 has the barging bit covered Graf: Quote: If this option is chosen then the aircraft and any units that disembark may enter enemy zones of control as if they were charging. "As if they were charging" implies, to me at least, that it gets all the other charging rules as well (i.e. barging). thank you. but it does not really cover it. if all other charging rules apply, thus also it's restrictions. so for barging you need to be able to move as a ground unit, right? so the only question actually is can a landed we move on the ground like a ground unit? if yes, it can barge.. but why would it then be destroyed if the assault is lost? And it would need a ground speed for that. if no, it cannot barge.. and the destruction when losing the assault would be justified. confusing to me.. of course I'm picturing a screaming mob of orks in landa in my head that would of course try to smash their landa into the enemy. but i guess that would be it's cc attacks then.. or do you mean that it's flying assault move is considered as the barge move as the rules do not specifically rule that out for flying we? |
Author: | dptdexys [ Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:33 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
Already covered in the FAQ section Quote: 4.2.5
Q: Can an aircraft land in an enemy ZOC? A: Only if they are making an Air Assault. In such a situation the aircraft could land right in the middle of a formation, and, assuming it was a War Engine, it could barge enemy units out of the way in order to make space in which to land. |
Author: | Graf_Spee [ Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: barging transport war engine |
dptdexys wrote: Already covered in the FAQ section Quote: 4.2.5 Q: Can an aircraft land in an enemy ZOC? A: Only if they are making an Air Assault. In such a situation the aircraft could land right in the middle of a formation, and, assuming it was a War Engine, it could barge enemy units out of the way in order to make space in which to land. nice. thank you. ![]() |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |