Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Barrage placement question? http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=32226 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | GlynG [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:17 pm ] |
Post subject: | Barrage placement question? |
This came up at the tournament on the weekend. When placing a 3 barrage template barrage does the initial template have to be placed so that it covers the maximum number of targets in the unit possible under that initial template? (with the other templates then placed adjacent) Or are the 3 templates placed to cover the maximum numbers overall across the 3 templates? I've previous played it to be the latter, but my opponent thought it was the former which meant I only got to hit 2/3s of the formation rather than all of them. |
Author: | Dave [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:37 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
GlynG wrote: This came up at the tournament on the weekend. When placing a 3 barrage template barrage does the initial template have to be placed so that it covers the maximum number of targets in the unit possible under that initial template? Yes. Quote: (with the other templates then placed adjacent) These have to be placed to cover the maximum number of units not yet covered, see the third Q&A in 1.9.8. http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#198-barrages |
Author: | StevekCole [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
Dave wrote: GlynG wrote: This came up at the tournament on the weekend. When placing a 3 barrage template barrage does the initial template have to be placed so that it covers the maximum number of targets in the unit possible under that initial template? Yes. Quote: (with the other templates then placed adjacent) These have to be placed to cover the maximum number of units not yet covered, see the third Q&A in 1.9.8. http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#198-barrages Thanks for clearing up. The extra template faq is helpful as it differs from the core rules which say: 'Note that once the first template has been placed, the attacker may choose where to place the additional templates, as long as they are touching the first template, and no line of fire, placement or range restrictions apply' |
Author: | atension [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
For barrage that are direct fire: Do you need LoS to just part of the formation then place the initial plate covering the most units even if those units are out of sight? |
Author: | kyussinchains [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
One unit under the first template has to be in range and LOS |
Author: | jimmyzimms [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
first template still, no? |
Author: | Dave [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 9:03 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
Yes, Kyuss's response is just for the first template. |
Author: | jimmyzimms [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 9:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
that was more for myself. I was worried I've been playing the rare direct barrage weapon wrong all this time ![]() |
Author: | Kyrt [ Tue Mar 07, 2017 12:03 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
StevekCole wrote: Dave wrote: GlynG wrote: This came up at the tournament on the weekend. When placing a 3 barrage template barrage does the initial template have to be placed so that it covers the maximum number of targets in the unit possible under that initial template? Yes. Quote: (with the other templates then placed adjacent) These have to be placed to cover the maximum number of units not yet covered, see the third Q&A in 1.9.8. http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#198-barrages Thanks for clearing up. The extra template faq is helpful as it differs from the core rules which say: 'Note that once the first template has been placed, the attacker may choose where to place the additional templates, as long as they are touching the first template, and no line of fire, placement or range restrictions apply' I've always found it very ambiguous. You can also interpret it in multiple ways: "Attacker may choose where... as long as... no placement... restrictions apply" Or "Attacker may choose. No placement restrictions apply." Neither of which would explain why no line of fire restrictions apply but number of unit placement restrictions do. |
Author: | Ginger [ Tue Mar 07, 2017 4:42 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
To my mind, the biggest ambiguity that should be cleared up is the order in the template placing process. Do you
Both approaches follow the RAW, though obviously can end up with wildly different results. FWIW, I play option b), and I cannot recall anyone playing the other way round, even thaugh technically that seems to be closer to the written process. |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
Given that you're able to measure at any time, a player is able to check where their barrage will have the most effect as described in B). Semi-relatedly. I tend to use barrage templates as spacers for my scout units, ensuring that only one unit is ever caught under a template. |
Author: | jimmyzimms [ Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Barrage placement question? |
Ohhh clever idea, Dave. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |