Dan 1314 wrote:
We had in a recent game a unit of infantry assulting across water. Conscious that the opponent was a trifiling 10 cm away from the other bank, and they had bikes, some units crossed and some stayed on the other bank to fire fight.
After retaining coherency of 5cm for the assault, the 'link' in the unit was killed in the assult.
This left me with some units on the left bank and some on the right and outwith coherency.
Remmembering the rule about having to move back into coherency with any move, I used the victors 5cm move to move back into coherency. Only to then fail the dangerous terrain for the the new linking unit.
After some debate, and recalling my most recent game against the fersome Tim, we agreed that we would play that the unit would need to move on its next activation back into coherency. There was however discussion that part of the unit should be wiped out for being out of coherency. How would your wise selfs play it?
Rulebook
Quote:
1.7.4 Formations
Any units that are out of formation for any reason after a formation has taken the movement part of its action are destroyed. The controlling player may choose which units are ‘out of formation’ and destroyed. Note that each unit lost will place one Blast marker on the main part of the formation. This applies after each individual move, so if a formation made a march action, you can’t wait until the end of all three moves in order to bring units back into formation – any out of formation units are destroyed at the end of the first move (and again at the end of the second and third moves if any other units have also ended up out of formation following the move).
Consolidation moves are considered as normal moves
http://www.taccmd.tacticalwargames.net/ ... on#p382245and an FAQ answer confirms this
Quote:
A: Yes. The Consolidation Move is considered a movement .
Quote:
And in case this wasn't taxing enough, we then had a debate about fearless units losing an assult where they are surrounded. - Think a squad of thousand sons surrounded by orks. In the case where they cannot move through the opponent units (not being war engines) and so cannot get 5cm clear in any direction. Would this see the fearless units wiped out or is it just a bit gamesmanship?
Of course at this stage we decided more wine and less rules would win the day.
From 2.1.3
Quote:
Units that are Fearless are immune to damage from losing an assault (both the additional hits and being wiped out if already broken) and from the damage inflicted by Blast markers if broken. When broken or otherwise forced to take a withdrawal move, Fearless units may choose not to withdraw, and if the
unit elects to withdraw it will be destroyed only if it ends its move within 5cm of the enemy rather than 15cm. Fearless units that remain stationary do not take additional damage.