Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Rules questions
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=31172
Page 1 of 2

Author:  ffoley [ Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Rules questions

There's a few things that I wanted to check with the gurus - much appreciated

1) Can you use SC reroll when (failing to) activate the SC's formation which is attempting to enter from reserves (i.e. through a portal)

2) Can an Eldar player retain for a second time when the only farsighted model(s) are off board but the attempted activation is bringing a formation with a farseer onto the table via a portal?

3) A WE is in an assault with opposing units both in CC and at FF range. If the WE elects to roll all his dice using the CC value can any hits be allocated on units that are not in base contact (or are they effectively immune)

I think the answers are all no but...

Author:  Azazel [ Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Not an expert but would also say 3x no.

A probable no to points 1 and 2 and a deffinite no to point 3



Sent from mobile.

Author:  Dave [ Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Yes, see third question: http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#specialist-units

Yes, as above.

Each WE in an assault has its own CC pool and FF pool. Hit from one cannot be transferred to another.

Author:  ffoley [ Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

1 & 2 was a surprise - specially 2 given the wording of the farsight rule but that FAQ is clear enough

thanks :)

Author:  Kyrt [ Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Yes, yes, no

More contentious for 1 and 2 is whether the farseer or sc can use their abilities from inside a vampire. At EUK tournaments the ruling has been yes - basically the ability can be used off board if it "affects" their own formation entering play. I suspect many others would not play it that way though.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Author:  Mark W [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Here's how it works for question 3:

Roll dice for all unit involved in the assault (units in B-B using their CC value; units within 15cm and LoS using their FF value)
Group all 'normal' hits together, make a second pile of all 'MW' hits, and a third of all 'TK' hits
Allocate all 'normal' hits**** front-to-back and resolve them.
Then allocate all 'MW' hits front-to-back and resolve them
Finally allocate and resolve all 'TK' hits front-to-back

War engines can kill units not in CC with CC attacks but hits have to be allocated to CC units first. The exception is if they split their attacks between CC and FF, in which case only FF hits units out of b2b. (That's when the rule comes into effect.)
Normal units with extra attacks can also kill units in 15cm with CC attacks, but the attacks must be allocated to units in CC first, then closest.

Author:  dptdexys [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Mark W wrote:
Here's how it works for question 3:

War engines can kill units not in CC with CC attacks but hits have to be allocated to CC units first. The exception is if they split their attacks between CC and FF, in which case only FF hits units out of b2b. (That's when the rule comes into effect.)
Normal units with extra attacks can also kill units in 15cm with CC attacks, but the attacks must be allocated to units in CC first, then closest.


War Engine rules specifically state CC hits can only be alocated to units in BtoB and FF hits to units not in BtoB

Quote:
3.3.2 Close Combat and Firefight Attacks
Instead of rolling a single hit dice for each war engine in an assault, roll a number of hit dice equal to the war engine’s starting damage capacity. You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact.

Author:  kyussinchains [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Yeah splitting attacks 'as you see fit' also includes not splitting them at all :)

Author:  Kyrt [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Hmm interesting it had not occured to me before that you can split but don't have to. In which case you'd be rolling DC * CC attacks, but allocate using the regular rules...

Author:  kyussinchains [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

but that isn't how it reads

You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact.

if a warlord titan rolls 8 in CC and 0 in FF it's still 'splitting' attacks

Author:  Kyrt [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Uhh so what are you saying?

kyussinchains wrote:
Yeah splitting attacks 'as you see fit' also includes not splitting them at all :)


kyussinchains wrote:
if a warlord titan rolls 8 in CC and 0 in FF it's still 'splitting' attacks


I don't follow what you are saying.

Author:  kyussinchains [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

I'm saying that it's a huge stretch to say that war engine attacks behave like regular attacks from troops UNLESS you choose to split them, I know the rules aren't the most tightly written but to me it's clear that war engine CC/FF attacks are only applied to units in BTB/not in BTB regardless of whether you're splitting attacks or not

Author:  kyussinchains [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

I'm saying that there is no functional difference between splitting your attacks 4/4 CC/FF and 8/0 CC/FF

Author:  jimmyzimms [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

yeah I've never thought of let alone heard of it being applied outside of Kyuss description.

Author:  Mark W [ Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rules questions

Most people I've played use normal allocation rules for assault unless the Titan splits its attacks Between FF and CC.

But RAW I don't think it's clear from what's written either way. It doesn't explicitly say in the second part of the sentence if this is ONLY when splitting or all the time. (I.e ignore the normal rules)Seems more likely to me a Gargant having a 15cm reach with its claw than an ork nob would?

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/