Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Assault question http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=30188 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | ffoley [ Sat Aug 29, 2015 5:39 pm ] |
Post subject: | Assault question |
What happens if after countercharge the engaging formation has no model within 15cm of target? I guess you just roll for the result. Thanks. |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
No you just stop the activation. |
Author: | ffoley [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:31 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
thanks. |
Author: | carlos [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
I guess the exception is if the countercharge move gets a new fm in b2b contact, in which case you'd fight that engagement. |
Author: | ffoley [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
I've read the rules again and I can't see why the activation ends if the enemy moves out of range by their countercharge |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:20 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
It doesn't, you work out the result again. See the last question here: http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#resolve-attacks |
Author: | ffoley [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:50 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
that's dealing with when there is a tie. |
Author: | kyussinchains [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
From 1.12.3: 'Once the move is complete, the engaging formation must have at least one unit within 15cms of a unit from the target formation. If this is not the case then the assault does not take place and the action ends' |
Author: | ffoley [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:23 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
I'm talking about when the move is complete and you do have a unit within 15cm (so the activation doesn not end) But then the enemyvoluntarily countercharges away out of 15cm. there is no rule or FAQ to cover this. |
Author: | kyussinchains [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:30 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
There is no functional differtence |
Author: | ffoley [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:37 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
I personally think: RAW = roll the result RAI = activation ends and some would argue (if they were the defender) that attack stalls and auto breaks |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:43 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
ffoley wrote: that's dealing with when there is a tie. Ah, yes. If the assault formation can't get within 15cm then that's it. Take counter-charges into account if they're going to move away from the engager. It definitely doesn't stall. There were no attackers directly engaged, so none were killed. |
Author: | ffoley [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
my experience is people will naturally interpret ambiguity to benefit themselves and there appears some ambiguity here (not sure if FAQ could be improved). However I'm glad you are all in agreement that activation ends. That is how I will play it too then. Thanks |
Author: | dptdexys [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:47 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
It comes down to how you interpret the counter charge rules, especially the highlighted part. Quote: 1.12.4 Counter Charges An assault represents a brutal short-range battle involving movement, shooting and close combat. Although the assaulting formation will have initiated the combat, the defending formation will have time to react to the enemy assault and make limited moves of their own. To represent this, units from the defending formation involved in the assault are allowed to make a special move called a counter charge. Defending units that are not already in base contact with an enemy unit are allowed to counter charge. Units with a speed of 30cm or more may make a counter charge move of 10cm. Units with a speed of 25cm or less may make a counter charge move of 5cm. Counter charges happen after the engaging formation has finished moving and any overwatch shots have been taken, but before the combat is resolved. All the normal charge move rules apply, and defending formations must still be in a legal formation after the counter charge moves have been made (ie, all units must be within 5cm of another unit from their formation). Embarked units may dismount For me having a unit within 15cm after movement has finished is part of the "normal charge rules" so count for counter charges too. |
Author: | kyussinchains [ Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:26 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Assault question |
Agreed |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |