Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Consolidation moves... http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=29026 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Couchmonster [ Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:39 pm ] |
Post subject: | Consolidation moves... |
Are mix formations able to embark transports as part of a consolidation move? Sorry if this is a real nubbin question but I've gone rules blind looking at the book :S |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Hi, this FAQ is actually slightly incorrect; it only applies to troops embarking back onto a War Engine transport, not to 'standard' transports. The point is that troops embark and disembark from WE slightly differently than from ordinary transports. This is explained in 3.1.3 but essentially troops can embark onto a WE transport at the end of their move after which the WE transport may not move, otherwise the troops would effectively be moving further than they should thus gaining an unfair advantage. It is for this reason that an Air Transport (WE) loses it's disengagement move if troops used their consolidation move to embark onto it. I have raised this query with Dave here |
Author: | Dave [ Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
I'm not following you Ginger. This Q&A isn't talking about troops embarking on a transport, it's talking about the transport picking up the units as part of its consolidation move. |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:39 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Well, a 'standard' transport like a Wave Serpent can consolidate and pick up troops eg Guardians after they have performed a successful assault. However, if the Guardians consolidate back onto a Vampire, this act prevents the Vampire from moving again, so prevents the Vampire from Disengaging in the end phase. Equally, the Guardians may consolidate after their combat and then be collected by a Vampire later in the turn. On reflection, it could be the wording that is slightly confusing, since it is suggesting that the unit being picked up may not make a consolidation move, which is not correct. |
Author: | Dave [ Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
What it's covering is if a transport (WE or not) makes a consolidation move it can pick up units, and those units that are picked up aren't allowed to make a consolidation move. It's not covering that a unit is allowed to use its consolidation move to embark on a WE transport (which in turn can't consolidate). That's covered elsewhere. |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:04 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
I am not sure I understand what is intended then; once a formation is inside a transport it loses all movement, so obviously has no consolidation when inside. However, the troops are allowed to disembark if the transport is assaulted (providing they are not locked in). This FAQ suggests that the disembarked troops could not consolidate under these circumstances - is that really what was intended? |
Author: | Dave [ Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Ginger wrote: I am not sure I understand what is intended then; once a formation is inside a transport it loses all movement, so obviously has no consolidation when inside. A unit can't consolidate and then be picked up by a transport also consolidating. |
Author: | Ginger [ Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:36 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Hi Dave, could you expand further. I am struggling to envisage the situation that the FAQ is intended to clarify, not least because I thought WE were the only type of units that could pick up another formation, and they do not embark units in this manner |
Author: | Kyrt [ Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:55 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
It's just a simple question of: "can units be picked up by transports during a consolidation move in the same way they can in a normal move?" Answer: yes. Or to put another way: "does a consolidation move count as a move for the purposes of the Transport rule?" Answer: yes |
Author: | Ginger [ Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:02 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Ah, I understand. Apologies for the significant digression. This FAQ covers the situation where a formation is consolidating and troops are being picked up by their transports as part of the consolidation move. 1.7.5 is clear that the transport moves over the troops to pick them up, and that the troops are not allowed to move when this happens. The FAQ is merely restating this point Perhaps the answer could be reworded slightly to read:- A. Yes and yes. A transport may consolidate and pick up troops from its own formation, but they may not move while this happens (see 1.7.5) |
Author: | Dave [ Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Added. |
Author: | NCO [ Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Sorry, how far is a consolidation move? And where does it say in the rules? |
Author: | dptdexys [ Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
consolidation is in 1.12.9 Quote: 1.12.9 Winner Consolidates
After the loser has withdrawn, the winning formation receives a number of Blast markers equal to the number of units that were killed by the enemy. Note that it is possible for a formation to win an assault and then become broken by the casualties that they suffered! In this case, the winning formation is broken, but does not have to make a withdrawal even if other enemy units are within 15cm (see 1.13.3). If the winner of the combat was already broken at the start of the combat, they do not receive any additional Blast markers. Any units on the winning side may then move 5cm. This is a free bonus move designed to allow attacking units to occupy territory they have captured. Units may not enter an enemy’s zone of control when they consolidate. |
Author: | NCO [ Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:56 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Consolidation moves... |
Cheers. Not sure how I didnt see that! |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |