Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Rules queries from a relative newbie

 Post subject: Rules queries from a relative newbie
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:25 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:03 am
Posts: 174
I played my 4th ever game of Epic recently, against an opponent outside of the group where I first learnt the rules, and there are some clear play-differences between our groups, so I'm wondering if we can get clarification/advice on a few things:

Macro-weapons and extra attacks: For something like Terminators, where they have power weapons that state "MW, EA+1", does that mean the stand makes all attacks as MW attacks, or is only the EA+1 a MW?
I had been taught that only the extra attack benefits, but my opponent pointed out that the order of stated abilities and presence of the comma showed that all attacks benefit (which makes logical sense).

What order to casualties happen from a lost combat? In one engagement I beat 2 Terminators and a Thunderhawk (intermingled), causing 2 damage (after ATSKNF). He put the damage on the Thunderhawk (which was closest), killing it. The Thunderhawk would have died anyway for losing the combat, but I saw no reason it couldn't absorb the hits before it died automatically. Is that the right way to play it? There are going to be a lot more air assaults as we scale up our games, so it's probably important to get this right.

One issue that's more advice rather than rules- My opponent plays Blood Angels and my army is Eldar. In this game we played the Skimmer rule as allowing the Skimmer to use its FF even when in base-to-base, though the enemy could still use their CC attacks. I now know that is wrong, but it raises the question- is there anything a CC specialist army can do to counter the crazy number of Skimmers in an Eldar army? Units like Sanguinary Guard pay a lot of points for awesome CC ability- it seems quite rude if most of my army can simply negate that whenever they want.

A few more questions:
How exactly does an Air Assault work? Do the troops inside a Thunderhawk disembark, and then get to make an assault move as well, or is the disembark move the assault move for them (ie. must they be within 5cm/15cm of the Thunderhawk during the assault)?
Related to this, how does Overwatch work for shooting at an air assault? Can I shoot the disembarking troops before they enter base contact?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules queries from a relative newbie
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:15 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9095
Location: Worcester, MA
The FAQ should help a lot here.
http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/

Just the extra attacks, but see 2.2.3.

THaek can be allocated those hits if it's closest. Same goes for daemons.

Not as written. I've see people house rule jump packs so they can use CC sgsinst skimmers.

5/15cm. Landing doesn't count as movement for overwatch. So you have to wait for the disembark to fire. At that point they're all one formation and you're allowed to target the WE or just the troops. It would be once the disembark is finished.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules queries from a relative newbie
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:34 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:03 am
Posts: 174
Thanks for the reply, and the FAQ link

The Terminators and other units become a lot less scary when they only have 1 MW attack per stand (and 1 regular attack). Not that it makes a difference when you can't pass your save rolls :p

Regarding the THawk hit allocation, am I right in thinking that a Counter-Charge move must be towards the enemy? (So, if I had approached from the other side, the Terminators would not have been able to make a 5cm move to get behind the THawk in an effort to reduce their casualties?)

The FAQ states there is no cover to-hit modifier in an assault- does this include for FF attacks? (we were applying it in our game)

The house-rule on jet pack troops seems like a good idea, though it contradicts the spirit shown in the FAQ (where two skimmers in B2B are given as an example). It's probably a rule we should use though.

I take it that there's no set definition for whether 'within 5cms' means the whole stand must be placed within that range, or only part of it? This difference would be important for Air Assaults.

I had been under the impression that you can't shoot when in B2B with an enemy, and that Air Assaults can then bypass Overwatch fire, but reading things again I take it this isn't the case- I can resolve Overwatch fire even with/against enemy in B2B with the overwatching unit, prior to working out the assault. Is that right?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules queries from a relative newbie
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 1:53 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9095
Location: Worcester, MA
If you counter-charge it must be towards the closest enemy, even if it's in another formation.

No -1 to hit in CC and FF.

See 5 min warmpup for in/completely within, or FAQ for transports 1.7.5.

Yes.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules queries from a relative newbie
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:55 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2546
Location: UK
As an addendum to the last point about overwatching against enemies in base contact, you may find yourself asking next whether overwatch shots can suffer -1 to hit an assaulting enemy that is in base contact with one of your armoured vehicles. The answer is yes - you can claim cover modifiers from contact with armoured vehicles, even if they are enemy ones. And whilst assaulting units don't get the benefit of cover (saves) in an assault, the assault has not yet started when the overwatch shots come in.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules queries from a relative newbie
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:22 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:03 am
Posts: 174
Thanks Kyrt, that question hadn't occurred to me yet. I'd assume that, for simplicity's sake, this cover modifier would happen even in unusual circumstances, like a single vehicle firing overwatch at a single stand that has reached base contact with it.

I'm expecting to get another game in on Wednesday, which will probably see many air assaults and planetfalling units. Hopefully that'll all go smoothly.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net