Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Support Craft & terrain http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=28305 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Kyrt [ Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:45 pm ] |
Post subject: | Support Craft & terrain |
Hi guys, Support Craft (like the Tau Manta) count as skimmers that are always popped up and always force firefight. Do/should they "land" at the end of each move? Rulebook 2.1.13 wrote: Skimmers may ignore dangerous or impassable terrain as they move. They may not land on impassable terrain, and if they land in dangerous terrain they must take a dangerous terrain test. Skimmers may also move over other friendly units as they move, but may not land on them. Enemy units and zones of control affect skimmers normally. Note that the "popping up" rules are separate, being described in a subsequent paragraph, and only effect line of sight. What is in common to the two parts are that skimmers must "pop down" at the end of their action, and (implicitly) "land" at the end of a move. |
Author: | zombocom [ Thu Oct 09, 2014 1:39 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Support Craft & terrain |
The intention is that they never land. The skimmer rules are not very well written; it's possible to be popped up and still land in a minefield. |
Author: | Kyrt [ Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Support Craft & terrain |
So can they end a move above impassable terrain for example? |
Author: | yme-loc [ Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Support Craft & terrain |
Kyrt wrote: So can they end a move above impassable terrain for example? They don't ever land, so yes could be placed hovering over a cliff or other inpassable terrain feature. |
Author: | Dobbsy [ Sun Oct 26, 2014 6:12 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Support Craft & terrain |
zombocom wrote: The intention is that they never land. The skimmer rules are not very well written; it's possible to be popped up and still land in a minefield. I think I read somewhere that minefields are supposed to be an abstraction of many types of mines, including jumping, or magnetic mines etc but that's another topic. ![]() |
Author: | Kyrt [ Sun Oct 26, 2014 6:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Support Craft & terrain |
yme-loc wrote: Kyrt wrote: So can they end a move above impassable terrain for example? They don't ever land, so yes could be placed hovering over a cliff or other inpassable terrain feature. Great to get a definitive answer. could the text of the rule (it's a generic rule in the ALC) be changed to say so perhaps? Currently it just refers to popping up, which does not affect the movement rules. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |