Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=26627 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | IJW Wartrader [ Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:45 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations |
EpicUK Death Guard. A DG Retinue with all the daemon-summoning trimmings (Pact, Icon, Champion) is embarked in a Plague Tower (or any other transport) that belongs to the same formation. To make sure I've got this right... 1a. Daemons can still be summoned at the start of the activation because that's a formation-level ability? 1b. If it was a Plague Tower in a separate formation they couldn't summon Daemons at all? 2. The enhanced summoning of the Champion wouldn't kick in because the unit is off-table? 3. If they end the turn embarked, the Daemons would leave the table because the Icon Bearer unit is off-table? |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:56 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Q - summoning daemons when transported? |
I have never had any qualms with having a mounted formation summon daemons whether they are mounted up or not. The daemons are just placed outside of the transports. Now it would be interesting if the Plague Tower allowed Plague Bearers to be mounted. Then they could be summoned internally and engage out of it. From your point 2. the champion is on the table just in a transport, so his benefit does kick in. point 3. Same as above he is still on the table, just mounted so the Daemons can stay. |
Author: | IJW Wartrader [ Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Q - summoning daemons when transported? |
Doh! I misread the FAQ about units off-board as including all transported units, not just ones in off-table aircraft/spaceship transports. So 1b is a no due to 'While being transported the units may not shoot or carry out any other actions except to rally in the end phase' in the War Engine Transport rules but the rest is fine. ![]() |
Author: | dptdexys [ Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:19 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Q - summoning daemons when transported? |
IJW Wartrader wrote: EpicUK Death Guard. A DG Retinue with all the daemon-summoning trimmings (Pact, Icon, Champion) is embarked in a Plague Tower (or any other transport) that belongs to the same formation. To make sure I've got this right... Quote: 1a. Daemons can still be summoned at the start of the activation because that's a formation-level ability? 1b. If it was a Plague Tower in a separate formation they couldn't summon Daemons at all? 1a. correct 1b. correct, if they are mounted in a different formation they are activated with/by that formation not on their own. As an example, a planetfallen Landing Craft where the troops jump out means all the formations can activate independently. If they stay inside then the LC activates and the troops inside can take part in the same activation (although a move would be needed to allow thetroops to move out of the LC. Quote: 2. The enhanced summoning of the Champion wouldn't kick in because the unit is off-table? that depends, if it is part of the same formation as the PT it would be allowed to use any special abilities, if it was mounted in a PT that is a different formation then it would not be allowed as you could not activate the formation it s attached to (can only summon daemons when the formation takes an activation itself). Quote: 3. If they end the turn embarked, the Daemons would leave the table because the Icon Bearer unit is off-table? The Daemons would stay (if approriate, Daemonic Focus and so forth). Off table means things where the units are actually off table (in an Air Transport, ready to drop pod/teleport enter by webway and so forth. Formations mounted whilst the transports are on table are still classed as on board. |
Author: | IJW Wartrader [ Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Q - summoning daemons when transported? |
Ta. |
Author: | IJW Wartrader [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:22 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Q - summoning daemons when transported? |
Only slightly related but it does also involve Plague Towers and mixed formations... If you have a mixed formation of a Plague Tower (Plague Mortar 60cm, d3+3 BPs, Disrupt) and some Contagion Engines (Plague Catapults 45cm, 1BP, Disrupt, Indirect) can the indirect ability of the CEs be used during a Sustained Fire action? I know abilities like Disrupt (fine in this case as they all have it), MW or Ignore Cover are lost unless all firing weapons have the ability, but Indirect is all described in terms of what the unit can do rather than what the weapon does. Note that I'm thinking in terms of a target that is in LoS and range of the Plague Tower's 60cm Plague Mortar, so the question is whether the CEs get to fire as well if they were outside 45cm or outside LoS, not whether the Plague Tower would be contributing to a barrage at a target it couldn't see. I'm expecting the answer to be 'no', but it would make Plague Tower upgrades a lot more viable... ![]() |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:00 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Q - summoning daemons when transported? |
IJW Wartrader wrote: If you have a mixed formation of a Plague Tower (Plague Mortar 60cm, d3+3 BPs, Disrupt) and some Contagion Engines (Plague Catapults 45cm, 1BP, Disrupt, Indirect) can the indirect ability of the CEs be used during a Sustained Fire action? Much to your surprise, the answer is YES. |
Author: | IJW Wartrader [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:06 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations |
Woo! I'll have to try that out in a list. ![]() EDIT - just to be 100% clear, when firing combined with the Plague Tower's BPs? |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:27 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations |
BP can be combined. Indirect can be used. MW/IC/Disrupt has to be a everything shooting (the BP) or not at all. Note: if you have mixed abilities you don't have to shoot the weapons that would cause the problem if you don't want to. |
Author: | IJW Wartrader [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:30 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations |
Ta again. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:24 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Q - summoning daemons when transported? |
Tiny-Tim wrote: IJW Wartrader wrote: If you have a mixed formation of a Plague Tower (Plague Mortar 60cm, d3+3 BPs, Disrupt) and some Contagion Engines (Plague Catapults 45cm, 1BP, Disrupt, Indirect) can the indirect ability of the CEs be used during a Sustained Fire action? Much to your surprise, the answer is YES. The CE's could fire indirect but you could not combine the PTs BP to the total BP for firing indirect too. To fire indirect all the units that are contributing to the attack have to have indirect but as Tiny Tim has stated you don't have to fire everything if you don't want to. |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations |
But if the PT is in range it can shoot |
Author: | dptdexys [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations |
I hadn't seen IJW had stated in LS and range of PT's an so forth , I'd read it as allowing the PT's to fire indirect too. |
Author: | IJW Wartrader [ Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules Qs - Mixed Plague Tower Formations |
No, that bit I was very sure on. ![]() |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |