Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Using Transports http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=25318 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Berkut666 [ Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:09 am ] |
Post subject: | Using Transports |
Help! had a discussion last night with one of the guys about transports. I understand that when transports are part of a formation they can only transport units from that formation. However, if the transports are a seperate formation, can they transport anything unit/formation they want (that they can legally transport) The discussion came up as we have alot of Ork Battle Wagons and cant really see rules to use them as a combined part of an ork army?? |
Author: | Ulrik [ Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:25 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
No, transports can only carry units from their own formation. The exception is War Engine transports, which have rules for transporting other formations (in section 3 War Engines). Ork Battlefortresses and Gunfortresses have an exception to that rule again, but only in Grand Tournament lists - they cannot transport units outside their own formation. Ork battlewagonz can only be bought as part of a Warband, but gunwagonz and flakwagonz do have their own formation (Blitz Brigade). A Blitz Brigade without infantry can't transport anything, but I'd not that a Warband can buy gunwagonz and flakwagonz as upgrades, while Blitz Brigades can buy infantry as upgrades. There's plenty of opportunities to use the transport capacity of gunwagonz. edit: Hmm, no infantry for Blitz Brigades. I was sure they had the option to add Nobz, but I was mixing it up with Gunzmobs. You can still buy gunwagonz for Warbands. |
Author: | GlynG [ Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:29 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Ulrik is correct, regular vehicles can only transport units from their own formation. Battlewagons are an upgrade option for the Ork infantry formation. |
Author: | Berkut666 [ Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:12 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Ahh now it all becomes clear! |
Author: | pati [ Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Just a quaestion! Maybe there's a better topic for it, maybe there were some questions like this, BUT: -If I buy a Codex Marine Tactical Company, in Rhinos -and I buy 4 Land Raiders for them, as Heavy Support -Should i put my marines into the Rhinos, or they can start at the LR's? So the Rhinos may start the game empty -just as free units for a Tactical formation? |
Author: | jimmyzimms [ Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:37 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Pati, if I am reading you correctly, a Tactical formation with Land Raider upgrades then what happens is you mount full into the Land Raiders and any stands in the formation that cannot fit would then be provided Rhinos enough to transport the rest of the formation. e.g. Tactical (6 stands) + Land Raider upgrade = 2 Rhinos + LR If you're meaning something else then please ignore ![]() |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:33 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
pati wrote: Just a quaestion! Maybe there's a better topic for it, maybe there were some questions like this, BUT: -If I buy a Codex Marine Tactical Company, in Rhinos -and I buy 4 Land Raiders for them, as Heavy Support -Should i put my marines into the Rhinos, or they can start at the LR's? So the Rhinos may start the game empty -just as free units for a Tactical formation? From the FAQ and the NetEA rule book just replace devastator with tactical, Quote: Q: Does the Land Raider upgrade available to the Devastator formation replace
that formation’s Rhinos? And if so how do you add Razorbacks to the formation if they do? A: A Devastator formation can be given up to four Land Raiders. However, including Land Raiders in this way will mean that the number of free Rhinos the formation will receive will be reduced to the minimum number needed to carry any Devastator stands that can’t fit inside the LRs. Then, once the number of Rhino’s needed for the formation is known, you may replace each remaining Rhino with 1-2 Razorbacks. To summarise: 1. Add any LRs to the formation. 2. Add enough Rhinos to carry any Devastators that won’t fit into the LRs. 3. Convert any Rhinos to Razorbacks. |
Author: | Ginger [ Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:43 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Pati, in E:A the intention is that formations should not have excess transport capacity. So when upgrading the transport (to LR in this case) they lose the equivalent Rhino transport capacity. |
Author: | pati [ Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Thanks, now it's clear! ![]() |
Author: | pati [ Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:06 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Hey, I have a second question! What if eldar banshees air assault in CC withRhinos, transporting 2 SM units -2 banshee/transport, get in CC before counter charge. What if they First Strike kills the Rhinos? The SM guys disembark? they are allowed to take part in the engagment in this way? They sholud roll for save when their transport is down? |
Author: | captPiett [ Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:13 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
If the elder double up BtB on each rhino, the marines inside will be unable to disembark. Kill the rhinos and the SM inside will be reduced to a cover save of 6+ IIRC. Don't get caught like that inside transport;) however, if the eldar can't double up all the rhinos the sm will be able to disembark. |
Author: | pati [ Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:38 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
only 6+ cover save? Is it sure? They still have their 4+ power armour ![]() |
Author: | Dave [ Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Anything inside a vehicle that's destroyed gets its armor save OR a 6+ cover save unless a crit says otherwise. If two banshees end up on a rhino, they trap the marines inside it. If the Rhino is killed during a FS attack, the marines would get their CC or FF. Sucks to be Banshees. |
Author: | Borka [ Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
pati wrote: only 6+ cover save? Is it sure? They still have their 4+ power armour ![]() Yeah they get their normal save unless the attack destroying the vehicle would have denied regular saves (e.g. MW/TK) |
Author: | captPiett [ Fri Jan 10, 2014 6:04 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Using Transports |
Oh, my mistake. Thought we had played it the 6+ way in the past. Maybe it was my IG in chimera I was thinking about |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |