Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Countercharge and cover save? http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=24675 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Markconz [ Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:03 pm ] |
Post subject: | Countercharge and cover save? |
Hi all, probably dumb rule question from game last night. Have always played that countercharging defenders get cover save, but last night opponent mentioned rules say no cover save with charge action. So is "countercharge" also a "charge"? for this ruling? Couldn't find in FAQ, can anyone point to what is relevant text on this matter? Thanks! |
Author: | Dave [ Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:35 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Countercharge and cover save? |
Defenders always get cover saves, regardless of counter-charge. I think this was in the latest bunch to be added in the FAQ. |
Author: | Ulrik [ Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Countercharge and cover save? |
Defenders aren't taking an action (they didn't take an initiative test, did they?) So yeah, what Dave said. |
Author: | Ginger [ Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Countercharge and cover save? |
From the FAQ in forum:- Quote: Q: Do the Cover Save and Cover to-hit modifier apply in Assaults? So, the Defenders get a cover save after counter-charging, provided that they are now in terrain (stating the obvious). Note, this also means that the defernders would gain a cover save if the counter-charge results in them entering terrain . . . .
A: Defenders in an Assault get the Cover Save from any terrain they are in but attackers never get a Cover Save from terrain. The -1 to-hit modifier is not applied as there are never any modifiers to attack rolls in Assaults. |
Author: | Lord Aaron [ Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:35 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Countercharge and cover save? |
huh.. some one i played a vassal game agaist said if the defenders move they lose it...huh.. o well |
Author: | Stu's Idle [ Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:03 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Countercharge and cover save? |
Yeah, in a tournament I was in recently I was told that if I moved anyone they lost their cover save... that's worth remembering. Thanks for bringing it up. |
Author: | Markconz [ Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:47 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Countercharge and cover save? |
Ginger wrote: From the FAQ in forum:- Quote: Q: Do the Cover Save and Cover to-hit modifier apply in Assaults? So, the Defenders get a cover save after counter-charging, provided that they are now in terrain (stating the obvious). Note, this also means that the defernders would gain a cover save if the counter-charge results in them entering terrain . . . .A: Defenders in an Assault get the Cover Save from any terrain they are in but attackers never get a Cover Save from terrain. The -1 to-hit modifier is not applied as there are never any modifiers to attack rolls in Assaults. Yes we read that FAQ, but it still does not make it completely clear that the "no cover save if charging" rule is overridden. Something like this would be clearer i think (changes underlined): "Defenders in an Assault always get the Cover Save from any terrain they are in, even if countercharging, but attackers never get a Cover Save from terrain." Given some others have obviously also been confused, perhaps a slight change to the FAQ is worth considering? |
Author: | Stu's Idle [ Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:18 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Countercharge and cover save? |
Markconz wrote: Given some others have obviously also been confused, perhaps a slight change to the FAQ is worth considering? I'm inclined to agree there. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |