Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
questions on overwatch and infiltrators http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20942 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Dave [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
Had a few questions pop-up at NEAT over the weekend. Infiltrators Can one stand of infiltrators base-to-base two enemy units? Since they ignore ZoC I've always assumed that the following does not apply to them: Quote: A charging unit that enters a zone of control must move into base contact with the nearest enemy whose zone of control has been entered. Overwatch A unit starts the game on overwatch, if they don't use it on the first turn do they have to activate to remain on overwatch into the second? And if they don't use it on the second turn, do they have to activate to remain on overwatch into the third, etc. Or, can the player effectively "pass" and not activate them? |
Author: | Mephiston [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:17 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
The infiltrator would still have to contact both bases simultaneously even if it can ignore the fist ZOC it enters as It has to stop moving when it makes contact....unless its an infiltrating WE on the barge! On overwatch, if you reach a point in a turn when the only formations left to activate are all on overwatch you can effectively pass your turn and leave the formations on overwatch without activating. FAQ'd I think. |
Author: | Dave [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
Is the infiltrator thing really that hard to do given how far they can charge? For the defending units on the outside of the formation basing two of them shouldn't be a problem, on the inside I'd say it be harder/impossible given you can't move over units though. On the overwatch, I couldn't remember and I still can't seem to find it. At least not on the Master FAQ thread, any idea where it's hiding? Was this one of those things that was in the handbook but didn't get adopted with the 08 revision? |
Author: | dptdexys [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:34 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
From page 5 of the online FAQ. Q: Can a unit remain on Overwatch into a following turn? A: If the Formation hasn't fired by the end of the turn, then they can remain on Overwatch into the following turn. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:42 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
If the Infiltrators can reach BtoB with 2 units at the same time then it is legal, if any unit can enter the ZofC of 2 units and then get into BtoB with them at the same time it is legal too. |
Author: | Ginger [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
The point on Infiltrators is that they do not have to stop when they reach the first enemy unit. They can move in multiple directons (and dance a Fandango if they like) before they stop, so they can skirt around the base of the first unit and into contact with the second enemy. OTOH, normal units *DO* have to stop IMHO, because they must move directly towards the (single) enemy whose ZoC they have entered. This implies a straight line without deviation etc. (the point being that though theoretically possible, it is effectively impossible to demonstrate during the game how you enter two enemy ZoCs simultaneously). However, it is up to you how you want to play this, so to quote L4, DWWFY |
Author: | Dave [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:49 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
dptdexys wrote: From page 5 of the online FAQ. Q: Can a unit remain on Overwatch into a following turn? A: If the Formation hasn't fired by the end of the turn, then they can remain on Overwatch into the following turn. Ya, I've seen that one. But that doesn't address whether or not they still have to roll to activate if they haven't yet activated in the current turn. Thanks on the infiltrators, that's how we've been playing them. |
Author: | Simulated Knave [ Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:19 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
I would say they have to activate in each new turn. But I have absolutely no basis for this other than what I would expect. |
Author: | Spectrar Ghost [ Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:15 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
They don't have to roll. If you don't trigger overwatch, or voluntarily leave OW to activate, it needs no new roll, AFAIK. |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:18 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
I'm still trying to track down a ruling on the former, but the latter definitely needs an activation roll if I'm interpreting what you're saying correctly SG. A formation on overwatch that latter wants to activate to sustain still has to roll. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
Yes, if you carry over your overwatch then decide to sustain you have to activate. If you want to reset overwatch and then activate other formations you have to roll too. The only time you don't have to roll is when a formation(s) that set overwatch in a turn other than the current one is the last formation(s) available to activate. In that situation it(they) can "pass" and remain on overwatch, thus ending that players turn. That is how it's been played at events in the UK for years and I think 99% of players are comfortable with it. |
Author: | Dave [ Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:13 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
Works for me, I'd just like it to be "official" somewhere. New FAQ entry or something. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
I think the majority of the UK players already read the FAQ that dptdexys quoted to already say what I said! |
Author: | dptdexys [ Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:34 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
Every formation has to take an action, you cannot deliberately leave formations un-activated (this is to stop players not activating formations which with a failed activation roll could affect the outcome of the game). Highlighted relevant part. Quote: 1.6 THE ACTION PHASE In the action phase, the players take it in turns to carry out actions with their unbroken formations. Each unbroken formation can take one action per turn. The player that won the strategy roll can choose whether to go first or second. The player going first then carries out an action with one formation, and then their opponent does likewise, and so on until all formations have taken an action. If one player runs out of formations to activate, then the opposing player may keep on activating formations one after the other until all of his formations have taken an action. The Overwatch activation rule has a stipulation which allows formations , under certain circumstances, to not have to take an action (staying on overwatch). The Overwatch rules allows formations to go on overwatch in a turn and remain on or use overwatch in the following turn (no roll needed to stay on overwatch into a following turn). To take any action in the following turn would need an activation roll. Even to put a formation that is already on overwatch back onto overwatch would need a roll (often players will put formations back onto overwatch to delay using other formations too soon). If a formation on overwatch hasn't been activated by the end of the turn (no other formations left to activate) then they are allowed to remain on overwatch as is stated in 1.10 (no roll needed, see FAQ) From 1.10 Overwatch Quote: Formations remain on overwatch until they either shoot, or they undertake a new action in the following turn. Note that this means that a unit can go into overwatch on one turn, and not shoot until the following turn. Shooting in the following turn counts as your action for that turn, and will stop the formation taking an action later on. If the formation does not shoot in the following turn then it may take an action instead of shooting. The FAQ Quote: Q: Can a unit remain on Overwatch into a following turn? A: If the Formation hasn't fired by the end of the turn, then they can remain on Overwatch into the following turn. The FAQ allows the formation to remain on overwatch (no activation roll needed) into the following turn as long as it hasn't fired in the previous turn wether it was put on overwatch in the previous turn or an even earlier turn (so no activation roll is needed to remain on overwatch from turn to turn). |
Author: | Spectrar Ghost [ Tue Jun 28, 2011 11:20 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: questions on overwatch and infiltrators |
Spectrar Ghost wrote: They don't have to roll. If you don't trigger overwatch, or voluntarily leave OW to activate, it needs no new roll, AFAIK. Bad grammar there. Added an extra comma after overwatch. "As long as you don't trigger overwatch nor voluntarily leave OW to activate, it needs no new roll, AFAIK." was what I meant. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |