Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
extra template barrage against WE's http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20897 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | chrach7 [ Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:35 pm ] |
Post subject: | extra template barrage against WE's |
If you land a barrage on a single DC 8 war engine, you get to roll 4 dice for hits. What if you land a barrage with an extra template on the same engine? Do you get to roll 8 dice total? |
Author: | Mephiston [ Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
The extra template has to touch the edge of the first template so you can't place them one on top of the other. Even if the WE was big enough to be touched by the second template you wouldn't get any more dice, its either half starting DC dice if the first template is centered or one dice if any template touches it. So only 4 dice, but you may get other formations with the extra template. |
Author: | chrach7 [ Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:36 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
ok, thanks- seemed too good to be true. |
Author: | Man of kent [ Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:04 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
If there is another WE close enough you could lap it over onto that though: if the OTHER centre hole is over that war engine you should get 1/2 dc hits on that one too! |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:58 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
This is answered in the FAQ Quote: 3.2.1 Q: Does a War Engine that is under two or more templates from the same barrage suffer hits from each template? For example, if it were under the centre of one template and partially covered by a second, would it take hits equal to half its DC, or half its DC+1? A: It’s only affected by one of the templates. By the same token a normal unit that happens to be partially covered by two templates (i.e. half of the unit under one template and the other half under a second template) will only be attacked once |
Author: | Flogus [ Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
If a WE is the primary target of a barrage, does the hole of the 1st template have the be centered on the WE ? And about the holes of the 2nd and 3rd template, is there an explicite rule or FAQ, or is it just a common use and interpretation of the rules ? |
Author: | Mephiston [ Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:36 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
As you have to maximise hits on the target formation then against single WE's you have to center the template. In WE formations this may not be the case. |
Author: | SpeakerToMachines [ Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
Mephiston wrote: As you have to maximise hits on the target formation then against single WE's you have to center the template. In WE formations this may not be the case. I think the question is, must the template be centered on the war engine, or is it enough that the hole in the template is fully over the war engine? Many war engines have bases large enough for that to matter - ie, you may be able to hit a few more models from a nearby formation, if you put the hole in the template near the edge of the WEs base. Flogus wrote: And about the holes of the 2nd and 3rd template, is there an explicite rule or FAQ, or is it just a common use and interpretation of the rules ? I'd like to know that too. We're playing that the 2nd and 3rd template effectively don't have holes, but it would be nice to have it confirmed. |
Author: | Ginger [ Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:40 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: extra template barrage against WE's |
If the hole in the template is on the WE, that is sufficient - it does not have to be dead-centre. This is also true for other templates covering other WEs (though it is quite hard to actually achieve this). |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |