Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Counter charge Questions http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=19840 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | frogbear [ Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:45 am ] |
Post subject: | Counter charge Questions |
We have a game going at the moment and some interesting questions came up. I will be short and sweet: 1. Is a counter charge counted as a move? 2. Do you gain the extra 5cm if you are counter charging on a road? 3. Can you overwatch a counter charge? Thanks in advance. ![]() |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:51 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Counter charge Questions |
1 - Yes 2 - Don't think so, the extra 5cm rule talks about action tests etc. IIRC 3 - Yeah, I reckon so |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Thu Dec 09, 2010 1:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Counter charge Questions |
Also, how do the three pertain to consolidation moves? Morgan Vening |
Author: | Onyx [ Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:19 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Counter charge Questions |
frogbear wrote: 3. Can you overwatch a counter charge? No. This is specifically referred to in the FAQ under section 1.12.4 Counter Charges. The Move referred to in the OW rule refers to moves made as part of an action, as described in 1.7 |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Counter charge Questions |
1. They are really a special case. Yes in some ways, no in others. 2. I'd say no. The rule uses the term "entire move" which, to me, implies a normal move, e.g. 15cm for infantry. However, it's not clear and there could be good arguments the other way. 3. No, as Onyx pointed out. === Morgan: For consistency's sake, I think you have to say that all consolidation moves count as normal moves. While there might be some wiggle room about whether consolidation is a "normal" move in the basic consolidation rules, in the Eldar's case, with Hit and Run, I don't think there can be any good justification for not counting the consolidation as a full normal move. Also, the WE boarding rules for consolidation are built on the same principals as normal moves. If someone has good counterarguments, though, I'm open to them. |
Author: | Ginger [ Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Counter charge Questions |
Agreed with Neal. Further point, 'Withdrawal' is a move, so can be shot by OW, gains 5cm on roads and can be used to board air transports without incurring the 'consolidation' penalty. |
Author: | frogbear [ Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Counter charge Questions |
Thanks all ![]() |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |