Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules question - BM from crit damage http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=19315 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - BM from crit damage |
So Warhound A takes a point of damage and staggers into Warhound B, doing itself a point of damage and hitting Warhound B doing it a point of damage. Warhound A - does it get another Bm for the damage point from the collision? Does it test again for a critical from that damage point? Warhound B - does it get a shield or DC removed? If a DC does it get a BM? Does it then roll to see if that damage point causes a critical? |
Author: | alansa [ Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:43 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules question - BM from crit damage |
A good question It's never been clear to me that if a we gets a point of damage from a critical (warhound stagger, reaver/warlord reactor damage, gargant fire) then do you test for a critical from that hit and do you get a blast marker? Nothiing in war engines's datafax says you should - so either the answer is no, or you apply general rules, but they only refer to damage from shooting, not from other sources? Similarly if an ork fortress flips and kills some units, does the formation get blast makers for those loses? Again the datafax makes no mention... If I where deciding what the rules actually should be, then I'd say yes and yes... but it's the rules as written that we're interested in. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:50 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules question - BM from crit damage |
AFAIK the only situation that you can take damage and not take a BM is from losing units from a failed dangerous terrain test, because the DTT rule specifically notes that you don't take a BM for losing the unit(s). So: Quote: Warhound A - does it get another Bm for the damage point from the collision? Yes. Quote: Does it test again for a critical from that damage point? We've generally played this as yes. Quote: Warhound B - does it get a shield or DC removed? Come on now Chris, you know that you're being evil here. ![]() Quote: If a DC does it get a BM? Yes. Quote: Does it then roll to see if that damage point causes a critical? Yes. I once had two Warhounds that repeatedly headbutted each other to death, after one of them took a single damage point from a humble lascannon. And here's a relevant quote from the rulebook: Quote: ...any hit on a war engine (no matter how it was inflicted) has a chance of causing critical damage...
|
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:31 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules question - BM from crit damage |
What E&C said: Yes Yes DC, of course Yes Yes |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules question - BM from crit damage |
Evil and Chaos wrote: I once had two Warhounds that repeatedly headbutted each other to death, after one of them took a single damage point from a humble lascannon. Ouch - I wait for the day when I have Domino Deathwheels. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |