Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

WE rules questions
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17897
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Asger [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:15 am ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Hi all, I've got a few questions that I'm sure you can all answer for easily :)

- If a formation moves to and embarks on a war engine transport, can that transport then perform an action later in the same turn, assuming it hasn't already done so?
- Tied in with the above: When a war engine transport makes an action the units inside are allowed to disembark and shoot/assault the same formation the war engine shoots/assaults. Could that mean that the original formation embarks, disembarks and shoots all in the same turn?
- Can a war engine flier start the game deployed on the table?
- If a landed flier passes an air assault/landing test then it has an infinite move?

Thanks in advance!
Asger




Author:  Mephiston [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:30 am ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Quote: (Asger @ Feb. 11 2010, 10:15 )

Hi all, I've got a few questions that I'm sure you can all answer for easily :)

- If a formation moves to and embarks on a war engine transport, can that transport then perform an action later in the same turn, assuming it hasn't already done so?
- Tied in with the above: When a war engine transport makes an action the units inside are allowed to disembark and shoot/assault the same formation the war engine shoots/assaults. Could that mean that the original formation embarks, disembarks and shoots all in the same turn?
- Can a war engine flier start the game deployed on the table?
- If a landed flier passes an air assault/landing test then it has an infinite move?

Thanks in advance!
Asger

1 - Section 3.1.3 covers this. If a formation embarks on a WE transport then it cannot activate that turn if it has not already.

2 - No, see above.

3 - As long as it has transport it can land so I see no reason why not.

4 - All AC have no limit to the distance moved, and must move at least 30cm before they can make a turn.

Author:  Asger [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:09 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

As I expected.

To Q3, doesn't section 4.2 (very first sentences) indicate that they can not be deployed?


Another question, unrelated to the above ones but I don't want to clutter up the board.

Q5. In the tournament scenario there are a couple of mentions (garrison + objective capturing) of a unit from the formation having to be "within" 15cm. Does that mean the whole base has to be completely within, or is a mm of the front of a base enough?


Even more unrelated: Round bases (1+2 pennies) are they not relatively inferior compared to the allotted wide and slim standard bases? The flexibility gained by being able to cover both a really wide frontage (e.g. capture several objectives) or concentrate on a really small frontage (e.g. FF assaults) seems like a rather big thing. Bear in mind I haven't played much at all, and not at all for years :)

Asger

PS A mod can change the title of the thread if they feel like it, as it seems I've drifted outside the narrow confines of the initial title




Author:  Mephiston [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:48 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

This sentence from 4.2

Quote: 

Aircraft that are
capable of transporting other units may be set up with the
these units already on board


seems to say they can. I can't think of many situations were I'd want to do this though.

Where to measure from (edge, nearest physical model, center, etc) is something that should be agreed during the 5 min warm up. As long as everyone plays it the same way in a game it shouldn't matter. This normally comes up when asking what counts as hit by barrage templates.

As long as base size is roughly similar it normally makes little difference, but again discuss any issues in the 5 min warm up. I'll be basing my 'nids on 2p and 1p coins and don't expect any issues with it.

Author:  Chroma [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:57 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Quote: (Asger @ Feb. 11 2010, 10:15 )

- Can a war engine flier start the game deployed on the table?

The rules for aircraft explicitly prohibit this:

Quote: 

4.2 AIRCRAFT
Aircraft formations are not set-up with other units. They are
kept off table (where it can be imagined they are in orbit or
stationed at a nearby airbase) but can be set up on the board
when they take an action. Aircraft that are capable of
transporting other units may be set up with the these units
already on board. The aircraft (plus any units they are
transporting) may only enter play using the following rules.


Emphasis mine.

Quote: 

- If a landed flier passes an air assault/landing test then it has an infinite move?


A landed flyer is treated as a ground unit with a 0cm/immobile movement, so it can't actually choose "Air Assault" as an action option and cannot move at all during the Action Phase, only making a disengagement move in the End Phase.

Author:  Chroma [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:58 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Quote: (Mephiston @ Feb. 11 2010, 12:48 )

This sentence from 4.2

Quote: 

Aircraft that are
capable of transporting other units may be set up with the
these units already on board

That means that transported units maybe setup "on board" the aircraft, not on the battlefield/tabletop during deployment. Asger is asking about deploying such a thing to the tabletop during setup, perhaps as a garrison, which is not allowed.

See above.

Author:  Mephiston [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:26 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Silly me!

Still can't see the problem with transport AC setup on the ground though. I can't think of a situation were it would be an advantage.

Author:  Chroma [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:35 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Quote: (Mephiston @ Feb. 11 2010, 13:26 )

Still can't see the problem with transport AC setup on the ground though. I can't think of a situation were it would be an advantage.

A garrisoned Manta on overwatch, surrounded by Pathfinders might bother some people... *laugh*

Author:  Mephiston [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:36 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

I thought the Manta was an always poped up skimmer, but I've not looked at the Tau for a while so I'm probably out of date.

And Asger, don't worry about going off topic. As you can see its easily done  ???




Author:  Chroma [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:41 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Quote: (Mephiston @ Feb. 11 2010, 13:36 )

I thought the Manta was an always poped up skimmer, but I've not looked at the Tau for a while so I'm probably out of date.

And Asger, don't worry about going off topic. As you can see its easily done  ???

Sorry, was thinking it was an aircraft, my bad!  *laugh*

Landing Craft then, loaded with tanks?

Author:  nealhunt [ Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:24 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

There's an FAQ specifically on garrisoning aircraft.  It's not allowed.

Quote: 

- If a landed flier passes an air assault/landing test then it has an infinite move?

There are two ways of reading this question.  If the question is about getting an aircraft on or off the board using an approach or disengage move, Meph answered and he is correct.

If you are asking about a landed aircraft staying on the board and "hopping" to a new location when it activates, the answer is no.  Chroma addressed this but for to expand a bit, once it has landed the aricraft is immobile.  It can only "move" by disengaging as an aircraft in the end phase.

Author:  Asger [ Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:36 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Thanks for all the answers!

Quote: 

Q5. In the tournament scenario there are a couple of mentions (garrison + objective capturing) of a unit from the formation having to be "within" 15cm. Does that mean the whole base has to be completely within, or is a mm of the front of a base enough?


Does anyone know how this is supposed to be played?

Asger




Author:  GlynG [ Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:55 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Any part of I believe, so a mm is fine.

The only exception to this is when disembarking from transports, which I think do need the whole model to be placed within 5cm of any part of the vehicle.

Author:  Morgan Vening [ Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:51 pm ]
Post subject:  WE rules questions

Quote: (GlynG @ Feb. 13 2010, 12:55 )

Any part of I believe, so a mm is fine.

The only exception to this is when disembarking from transports, which I think do need the whole model to be placed within 5cm of any part of the vehicle.

Nope. It's the same situation. Depends on the definition of "within". The only instances I can see in the rules where a distance and inclusion/exclusion is defined, is ZoC (use of "enter" means partly within), and coherency 1.2.1 (use of "without any gaps of more than 5cm" again, meaning partly within), and  shooting (within is included as a partly within, but this is a Design Concept, and therefore apparently a joke we're not supposed to take seriously  :p ).

There has not been, to my knowledge, any actual definition of "within" as "wholly within" or "partly within", when it comes to Transport Disembarking. Some interpret it one way, some interpret it another, neither is incorrect, until a ruling is made.

Morgan Vening

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/