Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Ork Warlord and Leader ability question http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17132 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | alansa [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
An Ork Warlord is a Supreme Commander. This gives him the re-roll, commander and leader abilities. If the Warlord is added to a stand of Nobz, does this give the Nobz leader twice? in other words, can that stand remove two blast markers instead of one? |
Author: | Mephiston [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:33 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Pretty sure this was discussed a year ago and the answer was it doesn't stack so only one extra bm removed. From the 2008 FAQ Quote: 2.1.8 Leaders Q: When you Rally (1.14.1) do you remove one Blast Marker per unit with the Leader ability or can you only remove one Blast Marker in total regardless of the number of units in the formation that have the Leader ability? A: You can remove one Blast Marker for every unit in the formation that has the Leader ability. |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:34 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Bingo. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
It's in the official FAQ, I believe. Special abilities do not stack. Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring). |
Author: | alansa [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
to be fair, that's they why I've played it so far, though Quote: 2.1.8 Leaders Some units or characters are noted as being leaders. A formation that includes any leaders may remove one extra Blast marker for each leader whenever it regroups or successfully rallies. (my emphisis) So a stand of nobs is a leader and a warlord is a leader. 2 x leader. The faq answers the question in terms of units with leaders, asking: is it 1 or more units with leader = 1 BM or 1 BM per unit with leader? and doesn't ask: is it 1 or more leaders = 1 BM or 1BM per leader? Just debating though - I'm quite happy to accept that characters can't stack abilities onto a unit. |
Author: | alansa [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Quote: (nealhunt @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:55 ) It's in the official FAQ, I believe.  Special abilities do not stack. Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring). yeah, inspiring uses the word unit |
Author: | Man of kent [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
I'd go with a No i'm afraid Al...another reason to always take a gargant...(says the man without a gargant!) |
Author: | alansa [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:12 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Well, I don't think you always have to go with a gargant (I think Joe has shown that) but the benefits are clear yes |
Author: | Mephiston [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Quote: (alansa @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:58 ) Quote: (nealhunt @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:55 ) It's in the official FAQ, I believe.  Special abilities do not stack. Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring). yeah, inspiring uses the word unit The FAQ regarding leaders uses the word unit too. |
Author: | alansa [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:50 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Quote: (Mephiston @ Nov. 12 2009, 14:21 ) Quote: (alansa @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:58 ) Quote: (nealhunt @ Nov. 12 2009, 13:55 ) It's in the official FAQ, I believe.  Special abilities do not stack. Most obviously don't stack simply by their nature and at least one that could possibly have stacked was already determined not to (Inspiring). yeah, inspiring uses the word unit The FAQ regarding leaders uses the word unit too. Yeah, but the original wording for Leader doesn't. The FAQ question and answer are written in terms that assume only one leader per unit and don't consider the possibility of stacking - And therefore do not address that question. To fix you'd need to errata the original leader rule. I'm getting real pedantic here? |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Edit: Hena beat me to it. Sorry I didn't quote the exact FAQ in my original response. |
Author: | alansa [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:29 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Ah - nice one hena |
Author: | alansa [ Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | Ork Warlord and Leader ability question |
Quote: (Rug @ Nov. 12 2009, 16:24 ) Quote: (Man of kent @ Nov. 12 2009, 14:07 ) I'd go with a No i'm afraid Al...another reason to always take a gargant...(says the man without a gargant!) The other option is not to take any Nobs........ & add your Warlord to ANYTHING! Mwahahahaaaa! Suppa Stompa could work? yeah - supastompa would well benefit from a warlord |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |