Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Rules Questions
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17008
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Kealios [ Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Rules Questions

Two quick questions, I think I know the answers but want to be sure.

1. A unit with an "Extra Attack +1, MW" will attack twice in Close Combat, once a regular roll, and once with the MW property, correct?  I'm specifically looking at the Eldar Wraithlord but this applies to anything..

2. Character upgrades add their weapon properties to the unit they join, instead of replace them (2.1.1).  So how does an Eldar Exarch in a Howling Banshee unit work?  It seems that, say, a Striking Scorpion unit with Exarch would gain the MW descriptor to their Extra Attack and not lose anything else, but the Howling Banshee unit would lose the First Strike characteristic and instead gain "EA+1, MW"?  Or would the HB unit gain both, with one attack being First Strike and the 2nd attack being the MW attack?

Thanks!

Author:  AxelFendersson [ Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Rules Questions

Quote: (Kealios @ Oct. 26 2009, 21:54)

1. A unit with an "Extra Attack +1, MW" will attack twice in Close Combat, once a regular roll, and once with the MW property, correct?  I'm specifically looking at the Eldar Wraithlord but this applies to anything.

Absolutely right, yes.

Quote: (Kealios @ Oct. 26 2009, 21:54)

2. Character upgrades add their weapon properties to the unit they join, instead of replace them (2.1.1).  So how does an Eldar Exarch in a Howling Banshee unit work?  It seems that, say, a Striking Scorpion unit with Exarch would gain the MW descriptor to their Extra Attack and not lose anything else, but the Howling Banshee unit would lose the First Strike characteristic and instead gain "EA+1, MW"?  Or would the HB unit gain both, with one attack being First Strike and the 2nd attack being the MW attack?

The latter, except that the Exarch doesn't add a Macro-weapon, just an ordinary extra attack. So the Banshee unit would get two attacks, of which one (their usual one) would have the First Strike property. Similarly a Striking Scorpion unit would have two extra attacks, (for a total of three), one extra attack for their mandiblasters and another for the Exarch.

Note that the extra attack for an Exarch in a Warp Spider unit does have First Strike, since the note applies to the unit, and not to to a specific weapon.




Author:  nealhunt [ Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Rules Questions

1.  Yes.

2.  Yes.  All character abilities add.  Special abilities that add to the unit add to the character weapons as well.  Special abilities in a weapon line on the unit do not add to the attacks granted by the characters.  Basically, if it's in the "Notes" section, it applies to everything.  Otherwise, you only get what is added by the character stat line.

A Banshee Exarch does not gain FS on its extra attack.  The Banshee FS ability is listed on the weapon.  OTOH, Warp Spiders have FS as a Notes ability, so the added Exarch attacks do gain FS as well.

Note, however, that Exarchs do not add MW attacks.  They add normal attacks.

Author:  Morgan Vening [ Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:15 am ]
Post subject:  Rules Questions

Quote: (nealhunt @ Oct. 26 2009, 22:12 )

Note, however, that Exarchs do not add MW attacks.  They add normal attacks.

Hmm... Need to change the NetEA Craftworld list then. Seems like every second Eldar list changes it.

Morgan Vening

Author:  Chroma [ Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:04 am ]
Post subject:  Rules Questions

Quote: (Morgan Vening @ Oct. 26 2009, 23:15 )

Quote: (nealhunt @ Oct. 26 2009, 22:12 )

Note, however, that Exarchs do not add MW attacks.  They add normal attacks.

Hmm... Need to change the NetEA Craftworld list then. Seems like every second Eldar list changes it.

Morgan Vening

That MW is a typo; a cut-n-paste error from the Autarch entry.

Author:  Kealios [ Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:57 am ]
Post subject:  Rules Questions

Ahhhhhh well fix it, dammit :)

Thats a huge difference.  I'll make a note of it elsewhere, but thanks for pointing it out!

Author:  Chroma [ Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Rules Questions

Quote: (Kealios @ Oct. 27 2009, 06:57 )

Ahhhhhh well fix it, dammit :)

That's the point of releasing a draft copy... all these errors are supposed to be picked up before the real document comes out!

Keep you eyes peeled!   :yay:

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/