Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Transports and Different Units http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16550 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | frogbear [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Hi All I understand that transports may only carry units bought for their own formation. There is also the exception that War engines may carry units from another formation. I was wondering whether there were any other exceptions or army lists out there that allow a transport option to be used for other formations. As an example, is there any reason why in a Marine list, the four Landraiders bought from the detachments section could not be used to transport a unit of scout using the War Engines transport rule? If not, is there any reason why such a rule is not in effect? Effectively, in the above example, if not able to transport, you are paying more for the formation to be independant of a unit, however are not able to utilize an ability which appears to be a waste. Personally, I do not like paying for skills that cannot be used. So hoping that there is something that I am missing. I am just considering different options for Slaughterfiends in the World Eater list. Thanks |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 1:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
You can do it in scenarios, just not the more tightly controlled 'competitive' GT lists. |
Author: | frogbear [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 1:29 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Quote: (Hena @ 26 Aug. 2009, 23:21 ) It allows "free commander" ability (eg. to engage a target together) for all formations being carried by transports. You can pick up remnants of multiple formations and assault together. That is a good point TRC The unit does have to finish their move next to the vehicle however. That brings me to the other consideration, a unit that had Transport ability and Commander (not that it exists). Could you then use the commander ability to pick up another Formation for the charge? |
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Quote: (frogbear @ 26 Aug. 2009, 12:53 ) I was wondering whether there were any other exceptions or army lists out there that allow a transport option to be used for other formations. No other exceptions that I know of. As an example, is there any reason why in a Marine list, the four Landraiders bought from the detachments section could not be used to transport a unit of scout using the War Engines transport rule? Not only does it allow some funky faux-Commander abilities as Hena points out, it's ridiculously unrealistic. Maneuver and coordination in Epic is on the battlefield, during combat. If you're transports aren't attached and specifically assigned to stay with you, you're not going to be able to coordinate with them on the fly. It just ain't happening. The most elite, highly trained troops the world has ever seen cannot pull this off. Look at something like the Blackhawk Down scenario - highly trained and combat veteran US Army Rangers failed twice over the course of 24 hours to rendezvous with transports specifically sent to evac them and ended up humping the 8 miles or so back to base instead. It may sound reasonable, but coordinating with unattached transports on short notice under battlefield conditions is effectively impossible. Effectively, in the above example, if not able to transport, you are paying more for the formation to be independant of a unit, however are not able to utilize an ability which appears to be a waste. Personally, I do not like paying for skills that cannot be used. So hoping that there is something that I am missing. You're buying them in a formation. The formation should be priced to take into account the formation's abilities. In other words, the pricing is based on the assumption that the transport capacity is unusable. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Quote: (Hena @ 26 Aug. 2009, 14:21 ) ...You can pick up remnants of multiple formations and assault together. Non-WE which use the WE transport rule could be restricted to carry only one formation. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
The Orks with their Battle- and Gunfortresses already have an exception and no one objects. |
Author: | GlynG [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Maybe best as a house rule if people choose then? I'd be fine with it. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:29 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Quote: (BlackLegion @ 26 Aug. 2009, 19:01 ) The Orks with their Battle- and Gunfortresses already have an exception and no one objects. In "Tournament games" the Ork 'fortresses are only allowed to carry units from their own formation not from a different one although they can have troops split between them. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:00 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
...although they can have troops split between them. This is the expection i was talking about. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:44 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Quote: (BlackLegion @ 26 Aug. 2009, 20:00 ) ...although they can have troops split between them. This is the expection i was talking about. Thats because transports bought for a formation and carrying their own formation doesn't cause problems. The 'fortresses cannot be bought to be added to an Ork mob and carry a different formation that it doesn't belong to in a "tournament game". |
Author: | dptdexys [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Quote: (frogbear @ 26 Aug. 2009, 12:53 ) I am just considering different options for Slaughterfiends in the World Eater list. If you want the Slaughterfiend to be capable of transporting units then just make a formation that allows them as a transport upgrade. |
Author: | frogbear [ Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:19 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transports and Different Units |
Quote: (dptdexys @ 27 Aug. 2009, 06:57 ) If you want the Slaughterfiend to be capable of transporting units then just make a formation that allows them as a transport upgrade. Yeah, that's the way it is looking at going. I just thought I would ask to get some veteran opinions and I am very pleased with the imput. Thank you everyone for replying and sorry Hena for referring to you are TRC ![]() Cheers... |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |