Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Few Questions that need clarity http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16495 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Tim_the_titan [ Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:44 pm ] |
Post subject: | Few Questions that need clarity |
Ok had a game last night against a 5 T hawk list and stumbled over a few situations i had never encountered before, and after much reference to rules and other sources i stand here in search of answer's. 1 : T hawk strafes, nightwings intercept, shooting occurs and hits are resolved, so now the aa guns that shot at my nightwings, can they now shoot in the straffing part of the T hawk's fly by ? 2: My opponents BTS is a beefed up tactical formation, but when the a T hawk does a ground assualt with 2 dev detachments with libriaran's the t hawk and 2 formations are considered on formation until the end of the shooting / assault that is part of, so if i the defender wipe out the t hawk and 2 dev detachments is that considered the BTS >? cheers Tim |
Author: | nealhunt [ Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | Few Questions that need clarity |
Quote: (Hena @ 21 Aug. 2009, 06:19 ) Though you could say the same if WE transport has units inside within end phase. I suppose there is no actual rule, but I would hazard to make a guess that the intention would be that it would not count. WE transports and the loaded troops only count as the same formation during the action of the WE transport. The rest of the time they are considered separate formations. 3.1.3, 4th paragraph, emphasis added: Formations that dismount in this way may not take an action in the turn they dismount, but are allowed to either shoot or fight in an assault if the war engine that was transporting it is able to shoot or assault. In both cases, the war engine and the transported units are treated as a single formation until the shooting attack or assault has been resolved. The war engine and the formation that disembarked are treated as being separate formations once the war engine has completely resolved its action. While this is specifically addressing dismounting, there are some obvious implications. Clearly, if a unit could shoot or FF while in the transport (like the unpublished Imperial CI) then they would shoot/FF using this same process even though they would not actually dismount. The rules for the WE and embarked formations being combined are the same as all the other combined-formation rules, which are all only effective during the action. Even though it's not explicit in saying that they are definitely not combined there is no out-of-activation situation in which the rules state the two formations are to be counted as one. Finally, the rules state that the formations rally separately (2nd paragraph), so they are clearly not considered the same formation during the end phase. That would pretty definitively settle the BTS question in any case. |
Author: | Tim_the_titan [ Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:06 pm ] |
Post subject: | Few Questions that need clarity |
thanks for clearing that up, much appreciated. ![]() cheers Tim NZ |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |