Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules question - Rolling for criticals http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16308 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:12 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
Following on from another thread. My Shadowsword takes 5 points of unsaved damage, having already taken 1 point of damage in a previous turn. Do we roll for 2 criticals, or 5? |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:10 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
No idea. I would assume it's 5. There doesn't seem to be any reference to 'max capacity'. My concern is those units that get a random movement. If a Warhound cops two criticals from the same firing action, does it stagger twice? Morgan Vening |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sun Aug 02, 2009 8:57 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 02 Aug. 2009, 04:12 ) Following on from another thread. My Shadowsword takes 5 points of unsaved damage, having already taken 1 point of damage in a previous turn. Do we roll for 2 criticals, or 5? You would roll for 2 criticals. FAQ Q: In the rulebook in section 3.2.3 it says to roll for a Critical Hit for every hit made on a War Engine. Do you actually roll of each hit or for each point of damage that the WE takes? A: Roll for a Critical Hit for each point of damage not for each hit. Only damage to a we can potentially cause a Critical Hit, not just hitting the War Engine with fire. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:41 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
...Only damage to a we can potentially cause a Critical Hit, not just hitting the War Engine with fire. Sounds to me that you don't roll for criticals for saved hits. But if a Shadowsword takes 5 hits and don`t save anything then it has to roll 5 times for ciritcal hits. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:50 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
Quote: (BlackLegion @ 02 Aug. 2009, 09:41 ) Sounds to me that you don't roll for criticals for saved hits. But if a Shadowsword takes 5 hits and don`t save anything then it has to roll 5 times for ciritcal hits. But it only takes 3 points of damage not 5 despite how many failed saves it makes it can only take 3 points of damage. The mention of hits is in regards to the rulebook at 3.2.3 misrepresenting hits as failed armour saves and being misleading. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
FAQs are not reviewed and parsed out carefully like rules are. Also, they are written in response to a specific question. That particular FAQ was a response to the critical hit rules which confuse "hits" and "damage" in their text. It was intended to clarify whether a WE had to roll for every hit, or only those that caused damage. It doesn't address this question. I think it can be done either way. Personally, I'd go with 5, as the WE did actually suffer 5 unsaved hits, each of which did a theoretical point of damage. Plus, if you're hitting it with that much damage, you should have a pretty good chance of getting a huge explosion. ![]() It's just the Ork in me, baby... Dakka Dakka Dakka Yippee Yo Yippee Yay Dakka Dakka Yippee Yo Yippee Yay |
Author: | zombocom [ Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
I'm with Neal. It's not clear one way or the other, so go with the most cinematic version, i.e. the version with the highest chance of stuff exploding. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Rolling for criticals |
I've always played with 'dc lost' number of critical hit attempts, although I can see the funny in allowing more than that. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |