Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Some basic questions

 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:32 am
Posts: 394
Location: Eastern PA
thanks for the quick response EnC, ive been using the admech list you made almost exclusivly in all these games ive been playing, the list is great.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:28 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (studderingdave @ 01 Aug. 2009, 11:37 )

say i have formation of 3 baneblades, and they take 3 wounds that i didnt save, thus popping one of them.

Quick note, you allocate _hits_ rather than points of damage.  Each Baneblade would save on the hits allocated to that specific tank.  It would only kill a tank if it failed all 3 of the hits allocated to that tank.

It's entirely possible to end up with a formation of 3 damaged Baneblades that are otherwise fully functional (still 9DC for supression, fighting assaults, etc.)

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20871
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote: (studderingdave @ 01 Aug. 2009, 11:52 )

thanks for the quick response EnC, ive been using the admech list you made almost exclusivly in all these games ive been playing, the list is great.

You're most welcome, I'm glad you're having fun with it!

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:32 am
Posts: 394
Location: Eastern PA
ok lemme check to see if im doing combat correctly.

i was playing against orks yesterday, testing my big mob out, i activated an "engage" action on a unit of 4 dreds and 2 killa kans. i activated on a 1+ (-2 since im an ork) and engaged the enemy, which was 6 gunwagons (with 2 blast markers on them already). i move ONE move, so 15, and get into base to base. he then moves 10 cm counter charge, since he moves above 30 cm.

the dreds each have one attack, then they have an additonal MW attack eack, same with the kans. after i inflict wounds (3) he returns hits, using his CC value on his gunwagons. he causes zero wounds in return.

so resolution works out, i outnumber him (+1) and caused 3 wounds (+3) he has blast markers (+1) so im at +5. we both roll 2d6, take the highest roll of the 2 and add the modifier, in which case i roll 4,5 he rolls 1,5, i take my 5 and add my modifier of 5, so i win, he breaks and i consolidate.

is that right?

also, i have a question about using transports with troop capacity to carry out a ground asaault. sau i have a landa with some dreds inside. the land flies on like a bomber right? so i would move on, brave any flak that comnes, land then the dreds would make an engage move into the enemy?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:51 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20871
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
All looks correct. I should learn to read more closely.


Note that when disembarking from a transport aircraft, you are only allowed to disembark 5cm, not your full move. Jump Pack units have an exception that allow them to disembark 15cm.




_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:55 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9682
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Quote: (studderingdave @ 12 Aug. 2009, 13:43 )

so resolution works out, i outnumber him (+1) and caused 3 wounds (+3) he has blast markers (+1) so im at +5. we both roll 2d6, take the highest roll of the 2 and add the modifier, in which case i roll 4,5 he rolls 1,5, i take my 5 and add my modifier of 5, so i win, he breaks and i consolidate.

It's "kills", not "wounds"; so you count the number of units destroyed.

There's another +1 if you have no Blast markers.

Finally, the losing side in the fight, after you roll the resolution, also loses a number of units equal to the difference between the two sides' results, so, in your example the losing Gunwagons would lose *FIVE* more units, and, in this case, be completely destroyed instead of broken.




_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:32 am
Posts: 394
Location: Eastern PA
Quote: (Evil and Chaos @ 12 Aug. 2009, 13:51 )

All looks correct. I should learn to read more closely.


Note that when disembarking from a transport aircraft, you are only allowed to disembark 5cm, not your full move. Jump Pack units have an exception that allow them to disembark 15cm.

so its best to bring that landa full of dreds in really close then?

thanks for the quick repsonses.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20871
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
so its best to bring that landa full of dreds in really close then?


It can mean that you have to brave a little extra flak to do so, but yeah if you want to reach CC it's the way to go.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:32 am
Posts: 394
Location: Eastern PA
sounds good, me and my opponent are learning the finer points of the game now. we still have to learn about garrisoning and overwatch, but we game alot so it will come up soon.

oh, another question,does flak thats part of a broken formation still affect flyers that come within range?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:10 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:32 am
Posts: 394
Location: Eastern PA
another qustion. again with shooting at broken formations.

example, a formation of ork boyz are broken, i decide to shell them with 9 basalisks, 9bp totalling out to 14 AP 3+ hits, casing 11 wounds. the ork formation still makes saves, or does being broken deny saves? i read that each blastmarker given instead removes ANOTHER unit, can someone clarify this a little bit?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:57 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Darkest Oxfordshire
They get saves as normal, being broken doesn't affect that.

Once the effects of shooting have been resolved, though, then instead of placing blast markers you remove an additional unit for each blast marker you would have placed.

_________________
"Good ale, the true and proper drink of Englishmen. He is not deserving of the name of Englishman who speaketh against ale, that is good ale."
- George Borrow


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:32 am
Posts: 394
Location: Eastern PA
and those units removed instead of placing blast marker, do they get saves?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:37 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9682
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Quote: (studderingdave @ 13 Aug. 2009, 02:31 )

and those units removed instead of placing blast marker, do they get saves?

No save for those kills:

1.13.4 Blast Markers and Broken Formations
Broken formations count as having as many Blast markers as
units for any rules purposes.

Broken formations do not receive Blast markers after they have
been broken and before they rally. Instead each Blast marker
that the formation would normally receive causes an additional
hit on the formation, with no saving throw allowed. Apply
these extra hits as you would from normal shooting (ie, from
front to back of the formation). These additional hits represent
individual units panicking and fleeing the battlefield, and they
make broken formations extremely vulnerable to enemy attack
– you have been warned!

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:42 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:32 am
Posts: 394
Location: Eastern PA
sweeeeeeeet. thanks for putting up with my noob questions, im sure ill have more.

i guess it pays to shell fleeing units.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Some basic questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:19 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 7:19 am
Posts: 63
Location: Germany
I think i goth some things wrong there too till now.

So if i shoot at a broken formation one unit is killed for the BM for coming under fire instantly, right?

Is another Unit killed too, as the Unit removed would cause a BM too?
Each time one unit is killed another one dies for placing the BM? So i would double the Hits?

_________________
www.ttc-cosmophobia.de


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net