Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16084 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:30 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact. Does 'not in base contact' mean not in base contact with the War Machine, or not in base contact in the Engagement. Example, I have a Warhound Pair. My opponent has a Terminator Squad. My opponent engages, and puts 2 Termies on each, all within LOS of both Warhounds. Can the Warhounds choose to use their Firefight value? (yes, I know it's the same as it's CC value, It's just an example) My opponent engages, and puts all 4 Termies on one Warhound. The second Warhound is unable to base contact, but has LOS. Can it use it's Firefight? Morgan Vening |
Author: | Chroma [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:36 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 06 Jul. 2009, 21:30 ) My opponent engages, and puts 2 Termies on each, all within LOS of both Warhounds. Can the Warhounds choose to use their Firefight value? (yes, I know it's the same as it's CC value, It's just an example) My opponent engages, and puts all 4 Termies on one Warhound. The second Warhound is unable to base contact, but has LOS. Can it use it's Firefight? Yes to both. War Engine assault attacks are always recorded as their own specific "type" and only applied to appropriate enemy targets. And it's "not in base contact" with the specific War Engine unit. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:40 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 06 Jul. 2009, 21:30 ) Does 'not in base contact' mean not in base contact with the War Machine, or not in base contact in the Engagement. Base contact with the war engine making the CC attacks. Example, I have a Warhound Pair. My opponent has a Terminator Squad. My opponent engages, and puts 2 Termies on each, all within LOS of both Warhounds. Can the Warhounds choose to use their Firefight value? (yes, I know it's the same as it's CC value, It's just an example) Yes. With 2 Warhounds, A and B, Warhound A's hit could only be allocated to the Terminators on Warhound B because those are the Terminators not in base contact with Warhound A, and vice versa. My opponent engages, and puts all 4 Termies on one Warhound. The second Warhound is unable to base contact, but has LOS. Can it use it's Firefight? Yes. |
Author: | zombocom [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:42 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Yes to both. It can be a little annoying to keep track of which shot came from where though. |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:46 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Cool. I just wanted the matter clarified before I considered playing with the Forge Knights I just purchased. The House Hyperion list floating around has a variety of CC/FF Extra attacks, and wanted to know how the rules were interpreted before fielding them. Morgan Vening |
Author: | Ginger [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
One thing to remember (or exploit) is that WE block line of sight, so the termies can be placed to combat just one of the Warhound pair. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Each war machine must be considered seperately. So if you have two Baneblades: B B And one Enemy unit base-to-bases one Baneblade ala: B B E Then Baneblade 1 can only use it's CC stat, whilst Baneblade 2 can firefight. |
Author: | Ginger [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:29 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
But if you set things up like this :- TTTTWH WH Then WH #1 gets to fight while it blocks the line of sight to WH #2, which therefore has no target |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
That depends on how you play counter-charge moves. RAW wording indicates that counter-charges are only in a direct line and therefore the counter-charging Warhound may not move 1cm to the side so that it can see the enemy. However the rulebook tells us that "Epic is designed for experienced wargamers, not experienced rules lawyers" so therefore you should probably manuever during the counter-charge just enough that you open LOF for the second Warhound to be able to see the enemy. Do you agree? |
Author: | Ginger [ Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:43 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
. . . and whether you can shoot through the legs of a titan or not  ![]() It also depends upon whether the Warhounds get to charge the Termies. If you have previously moved another formation in support on the other side of the Warhounds, their only legal charge may be away from the termies:- TTTTWH WH sss |
Author: | nealhunt [ Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
There's a good chance you can countercharge with the Termie Warhound and drag the Termies into LoS of the other. |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:06 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
So just to be clear, if my opponent puts the Supreme Commander Terminator on one Warhound, and the other three Terminators on the second, by CC'ing with the first, and FF'ing with the second, I get 6 potential hits on the Supreme Commander? Because the CC from the first, and the FF from the second can't be applied any other way? Morgan Vening |
Author: | frogbear [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:51 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 10 Jul. 2009, 04:06 ) So just to be clear, if my opponent puts the Supreme Commander Terminator on one Warhound, and the other three Terminators on the second, by CC'ing with the first, and FF'ing with the second, I get 6 potential hits on the Supreme Commander? Because the CC from the first, and the FF from the second can't be applied any other way? Morgan Vening ....or.... does the opponent get to choose where the hits go? |
Author: | zombocom [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:08 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 10 Jul. 2009, 04:06 ) So just to be clear, if my opponent puts the Supreme Commander Terminator on one Warhound, and the other three Terminators on the second, by CC'ing with the first, and FF'ing with the second, I get 6 potential hits on the Supreme Commander? Because the CC from the first, and the FF from the second can't be applied any other way? Morgan Vening This is correct. |
Author: | fattdex [ Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:23 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults |
Second thoughts... hits in assault are allocated first to units in CC, then within 15 cm, with no unit receiving more than one hit until all other units take a hit. so no matter how many hits are inflicted in which way, they get spread out evenly between the cc units. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |