Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Question - barging and cover
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15782
Page 1 of 1

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

When you barge models with a WE can you push them out of (or even into) cover? Say I land on a sieger trench with a landing craft, do those infantry get pushed into the open (or even onto their own wire?)?

Author:  nealhunt [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 05 Jun. 2009, 22:03 )

When you barge models with a WE can you push them out of (or even into) cover? Say I land on a sieger trench with a landing craft, do those infantry get pushed into the open (or even onto their own wire?)?

Yes, you can.  Barged units are placed as close to their original position as possible, so if you arrange the forces where the closest position is out of cover the barged units are out of cover.

Author:  dptdexys [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Chris don't forget that the WE doing the barging has to adhere to the Zone of Control rule for assaults.

If it enters a ZofC then it has to move directly towards that unit,the WE couldn't drag units away from their formation or barge straight through them unless it avoided entering other units ZofC to do so.

I'm only mentioning this as I've had games were players have tried to barge straight through formations to leave defending units out of coherency or as you've stated, to pull units out of hard cover. Very difficult to do if adhering to the rules.

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:41 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

So can you also do things like barge off the table? Or into impassable terrain?

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:42 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Actualy we just drop marine war engines onto the heads of infantry, especially siege infantry! When it is physically covering the trench its time to move.




Author:  Ginger [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 2:19 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Ok, this has got me intruiged - so can barging cause a 'ripple' effect by pushing one unit into another. Taking TRC example of landing on the trench, can the THawk landing on top of the trench force the entire IG formation to move along the trench system? This way, the enemy would still get the full benefit of cover?

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 2:34 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

But int he trench isn't the nearest position just outside it touching the WE?

Author:  BlackLegion [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:05 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

As Infantry can move through Infantry there is no ripple.

Author:  dptdexys [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:12 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 06 Jun. 2009, 01:41 )

So can you also do things like barge off the table? Or into impassable terrain?

You cannot barge off table as the WE would have to drag the defenders with it to get them off the board and all units can only leave the table if using a special ability to do that.

As for impassable terrain that is only possible if WE drags vehicles into rivers or jungles ( the only terrain thats impassable to things that a WE can enter/cross).

What would happen to the vehicles though I don't know,maybe we need Neal to confirm.

Author:  dptdexys [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:20 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 06 Jun. 2009, 01:42 )

Actualy we just drop marine war engines onto the heads of infantry, especially siege infantry! When it is physically covering the trench its time to move.

I think if theres room to move the infantry and keep them on the trench this is allowed otherwise they would have to go outside the trench.

There could be no ripple as the troops would not be allowed to make room for the barged troops to move into(their only legally allowed move would be a counter charge).

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:22 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Actually forget infantry, I should drop on those 0 saved move 0 lv's!

Author:  Ginger [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:57 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Even there, I believe the 0cm move unit would be 'barged', just unable to move from the new position it finds itself in. This could be very awkward if that happened to be out of coherency with the rest of the formation (always assuming the formation actually lasted to the point where it had to activate  :laugh: )

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:37 am ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Indeed, the barged unit doesn't use its own movement stat to move, but the hostile War Engine's ability.

Author:  nealhunt [ Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Question - barging and cover

Off-board:  I don't see any way to do this.  The unit would be placed at the closest legal position touching the WE.  Unless the WE were entirely off the board, the barged unit would be on-board.  Even if the WE ran off the board by scenario rules or something, I would probably leave the defenders on the board and count it as an Engage action where no units were in range.

Impassable:  I've never thought about this.  I think it is extremely unlikely to ever occur due to the charge move rules but it's theoretically possible.  I would probably stop the barged unit at the edge of the impassable terrain and let the assault be resolved with it in that position.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/