Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Aircraft http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15583 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Thu May 14, 2009 4:16 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft |
Can an aircraft without a FF/CC stat Engage a ground-based formation? ![]() Can Fighters 'jink' whilst doing so??? ![]() I'm sure this is probably disallowed in the rules somewhere but maybe not... |
Author: | zombocom [ Thu May 14, 2009 4:20 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft |
Only transport planes can land and engage, and I think they all have CC/FF stats. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Thu May 14, 2009 4:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft |
I thought as much and have always played as such as it's pretty logical, just never bothered to look up whether such a rule actually existed. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Thu May 14, 2009 4:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft |
Ok 4.1.1 Aerospace Formations Aerospace units are organised into formations just like any other unit. However, although aerospace formations do receive Blast markers, they cannot be broken or suppressed. In addition, they can’t be assaulted, lend support to an assault or be used by another formation to claim a crossfire, etc, while in the air. Once landed, an aerospace unit may be assaulted and be used in a crossfire, and is affected by Blast markers normally. then 4.2.2 Aircraft Attacks After aircraft have made their approach move they are allowed to attack. Aircraft carrying out a ground attack action may attack an enemy ground formation. Aircraft carrying out an interception mission may attack an enemy aircraft formation. Aircraft are assumed to be flying high enough in the air to ignore any terrain that might block the line of sight when they shoot at any targets, and the crossfire rule does not apply to aircraft attacks. This aside, resolve the attack using the normal shooting rules. After the aircraft formation has made an attack, its action is over. It remains in play until the end phase, at which time it must make a disengagement move and exit the table (see 4.2.6). and finally Air Assault: Transport aircraft may choose to land as described above, and then it and any units that disembark are allowed to fight an assault instead of shooting. If this option is chosen then the aircraft and any units that disembark may enter enemy zones of control as if they were charging. The aircraft and any units that disembark are treated as a single formation for the duration of the assault, in the same manner as units disembarking from a war engine taking an engage action (see 3.1.3). If the aircraft loses the assault it is destroyed, but any units that have disembarked may withdraw normally. By putting that lot together you get the answer..No. ![]() |
Author: | Ginger [ Thu May 14, 2009 6:13 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft |
As Mephiston says,  "Aircraft" can only behave as a ground unit when they are landed - which includes taking part in assaults to use their CC / FF stats. As only transports can land it follows that they are the only A/c that can do this, so other aircraft do not need CC / FF stats. Equally Aircraft can only "jink" if they are being shot at by AA - ie they are flying. So landed transports cannot 'jink' both because they are on the ground, and also because only Fighters and Fighter-bombers can 'jink'. |
Author: | McMullet [ Sat May 16, 2009 2:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft |
On a related note: Can a transport aircraft land and assault even when it's empty? E.g., can a Thunderhawk or Landa land troops on turn 1, disengage and then fly in on turn 2 without passengers, land and assault a formation on its own? I would suggest the rules allow it but I'm not sure. Obviously such an aircraft couldn't do much damage by itself, but would be tough enough not to die if it clipped a formation, and could trigger supporting fire. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Sat May 16, 2009 2:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Aircraft |
Can a transport aircraft land and assault even when it's empty? E.g., can a Thunderhawk or Landa land troops on turn 1, disengage and then fly in on turn 2 without passengers, land and assault a formation on its own? Yes it can. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |