Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules Clarification - WM Garrison http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15561 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Tue May 12, 2009 9:59 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
If I take a formation that includes both Scouts and War Machines, does the count of the War Machine mean it's DC, or is it just counted in the singular. Example. I have a Normal Ork Warband (8+2g). I add a BattleFortress, which handily transports the above. How many Stormboyz/Kommandos do I have to add to the Formation before it's eligible for Garrison? Morgan Vening |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Tue May 12, 2009 10:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
War Machines count for their Damage Capacity. |
Author: | zombocom [ Tue May 12, 2009 10:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
War engines always count as their number of DC of units, so a baneblade counts as 3 units for garrison purposes etc. |
Author: | mnb [ Tue May 12, 2009 10:24 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
huh?! so you can have a WE in a garrison? i just posted not even 2 hours ago something on another thread about the wording in the garrison rules and how it's confusing. i was under the assumption that you could not do this, even though when reading it it appears you can. well i feel pretty stupid. thanks for the clarification. |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Tue May 12, 2009 10:29 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
That's what I thought the answer would be. So in the above, the correct answer is 12. That would be 12 Scouts of 25 total units (1/2 rounded up). At the moment, it's a fairly hypothetical question, as to my knowledge, Ork Warbands are the only ones currently capable of doing it, but there was a query when it came to custom list considerations. Hmm... Just to be clear with regards these rules, can a ThunderHawk/Landa/Vampire etc be deployed on Garrison? It counts as a 0cm unit when landed. Or are there rules prohibiting it? Not withstanding the relative uselessness of the situation. Morgan Vening |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Tue May 12, 2009 10:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
Quote: (mnb @ 12 May 2009, 22:24 ) huh?! so you can have a WE in a garrison? i just posted not even 2 hours ago something on another thread about the wording in the garrison rules and how it's confusing. i was under the assumption that you could not do this, even though when reading it it appears you can. well i feel pretty stupid. thanks for the clarification. Only if it completely fulfills one of the following criteria. • Formations where half or more of the units (rounding up) are scouts OR • Formations where no more than one of the units has a move greater than 15cms, and where none of the units are war engines OR • Any formations that include units with a speed of 0(zero). So it either has to be half scouts, or have a unit with Move 0, or be slow AND without WM. The circumstances I was working with, were only the first. Morgan Vening |
Author: | mnb [ Tue May 12, 2009 10:38 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
thanks. that's what i thought when i read the rules, but somewhere along the line someone must of gave me some bad info. that's why i always found the rule so confusing. i personally can't see me ever doing this w/ my orcs but who knows. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed May 13, 2009 1:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 12 May 2009, 22:29 ) That's what I thought the answer would be. So in the above, the correct answer is 12. That would be 12 Scouts of 25 total units (1/2 rounded up). It should be half of the total number of units in the formation, rounded up. 25/2 = 12.5, rounded up = 13 Scout units required. There is no rounding up on the number of scout units, because that is always a whole number, e.g. 12 units, rounded up, is still just 12 units. Just to be clear with regards these rules, can a ThunderHawk/Landa/Vampire etc be deployed on Garrison? It counts as a 0cm unit when landed. Or are there rules prohibiting it? Not withstanding the relative uselessness of the situation. Perfectly legal. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed May 13, 2009 1:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
Quote: (mnb @ 12 May 2009, 22:38 ) thanks. that's what i thought when i read the rules, but somewhere along the line someone must of gave me some bad info. It's a not uncommon issue. The garrison criteria are discreet. The "no WE" restriction is only in the 15cm speed criteria, so it only applies to that. You can garrison WEs under the Scout and 0cm move criteria without restriction. |
Author: | Chroma [ Wed May 13, 2009 3:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
Quote: (nealhunt @ 13 May 2009, 13:54 ) Just to be clear with regards these rules, can a ThunderHawk/Landa/Vampire etc be deployed on Garrison? It counts as a 0cm unit when landed. Or are there rules prohibiting it? Not withstanding the relative uselessness of the situation. Perfectly legal. Er... 4.2 AIRCRAFT Aircraft formations are not set-up with other units. They are kept off table (where it can be imagined they are in orbit or stationed at a nearby airbase) but can be set up on the board when they take an action. Aircraft that are capable of transporting other units may be set up with the these units already on board. The aircraft (plus any units they are transporting) may only enter play using the following rules. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed May 13, 2009 6:04 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - WM Garrison |
Hmm... I could see how it could be read that way. I've always assumed landed aircraft had a choice. After all, if they are on the ground they are treated like normal ground units and 4.2 wouldn't apply. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |