Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules Queries #1 - Craters and Warlords http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15071 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | frogbear [ Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Queries #1 - Craters and Warlords |
Hi All We just played a game (forgot to take pics or record it for a battke report - sorry), and we came across 2 questions that we thought would be worthy of a post. The first revolves around scenery. Now seeing not everything is to scale with epic, a little imagination needs to be used on this one. Our table consisted of craters, buildings and hills. The opponent had a warlord on the table. Now I advised that building and hills will provide it with a 'hull down' cover (-1 to hit it). The craters were 28mm game craters yet they could be seen as orbital bombardment craters. Some ridges were as big as a hill. Now how would people play this? 1. If a warlord is on the other side of a crater, would you give it hull down as the ridges were probably up to where it's shins should be. 2. If it entered the crater, would you give it the hull down advantage? Yes, people should make their own agreements for the game as we did, yet we are interested in how people would play it. Thanks in advance |
Author: | frogbear [ Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:32 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Queries #1 - Craters and Warlords |
No one have a reply for this one? C'mon, people must have come across similar situations with scenery... |
Author: | Chroma [ Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:30 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Queries #1 - Craters and Warlords |
Quote: (frogbear @ 08 Mar. 2009, 02:59 ) 1. If a warlord is on the other side of a crater, would you give it hull down as the ridges were probably up to where it's shins should be. 2. If it entered the crater, would you give it the hull down advantage? Basically, any time you ask the question, "Should [target unit] get the cover modifier?", the answer is "yes". From the rulebook, pg 17, emphasis mine: DESIGN CONCEPT Terrain Conventions It is possible to have all kinds of arguments about whether terrain partially or fully blocks the line of fire to a target. Because of this, you should discuss the terrain on your gaming table with your opponent before a game starts and make sure you both agree on how it will work with regard to this and any of the other terrain rules. However, the -1 to hit modifier should be generously applied, and if in any doubt it should be counted rather than ignored. The thing to consider is that, despite the models being static and the table being flat, the "real" battlefield is much more dynamic and contoured, and that the "-1" should be used a *lot*. |
Author: | frogbear [ Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:32 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Queries #1 - Craters and Warlords |
Cheers.. Thanks Chroma |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |