Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14906 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Man of kent [ Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:52 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
It has been pointed out to me that, currently, by the letter of the rules in the GW Rulebook that Attack Bikes cannot be transported by Thunderhawk: can someone PLEASE tell me that this is a blatant typo that has been fixed or has been FAQed otherwise anywhere? |
Author: | Moscovian [ Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:03 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
I know for a fact that Bikes rode in the Thunderhawk in the book Warrior Coven.  It was a terribly average read but it does illustrate that bikes can ride in T-Hawks. Now what does that do for the rules?  I don't know. ![]() |
Author: | Dave [ Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:50 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
This is one of those things like Planetfall on Land Speeders that was just missed time and time again. |
Author: | nealhunt [ Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
Thawks can carry bikes but not attack bikes as it stands. I remember it coming up, but I can't recall what was actually discussed. |
Author: | alansa [ Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:51 am ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
Surely this needs to be fixed. This is yet another reason why not to take attack bikes - I may decide to put my bikes in a thunderhawk, then again I might not. If I take an attack bike then the decision is made for me! Fluff-wise I don't see why TH can't transport attack. Literature supports it; an attack bike is no bigger than a stand of 3 bikes. Game-wise I don't see it doing any harm. In comparison, I can see why you couldn't and wouldn't want to allow Land Speeders in Thunderhawks, but Attack Bikes? |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:43 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
The Thawk transport says "bikes" as the official description is" attack bike" and " bike squadron" then a player could argue neither can go in or both can go in. MofK I think they are allowed,email matt O. For confirmation if you want to use them at FSA. If 3 bikes can fit in 1slot then 1bike and  a sidecar can. |
Author: | Man of kent [ Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:02 am ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
Matt's the one that pointed this out to me! :,-( |
Author: | Malakai [ Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:28 am ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
This seems like one of those cases where I would just house-rule it and say they can ride in the T-Hawk. If you find that this somehow unbalances things (highly unlikely) then change it back. Edit: I have a FW T-Hawk, I know there's room in that behemoth! ![]() |
Author: | mspaetauf [ Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:04 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
who'd take an attack bike anyway? ![]() |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
Some note in Wh40k a Thunderhawk can transport 30 power armoured Space Marines. It can carry Terminators which count as 2 power armoured Space Marines each. It can carry up to one Dreadnought which counts as 5 power armoured Space Marines. It can carry a single Bike Squadrion. Each Bike counts as three power armoured Space Marines. AND It can carry Attack Bikes. Each Attack Bike counts as four power armoured Space Marines. You can mix and match between this options. |
Author: | Man of kent [ Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
All fine as house rules but for this weekends tourney it doesn't help at all! |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:04 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
Quote: (Man of kent @ 22 Feb. 2009, 10:02 ) Matt's the one that pointed this out to me! :,-( I' sure Matts used an attack bike in a T/hawk against me ?.?.?.?.? |
Author: | alansa [ Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:15 am ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
I think that reason shows they can go in. Only an attempt at a RAW interpretation of what is written in the rulebook could possibly say otherwise. I get the feeling most would back you up if you wanted to do it MOK |
Author: | Man of kent [ Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Attack Bikes and Thunderhawks... |
Quote: (dptdexys @ 22 Feb. 2009, 15:04 ) Quote: (Man of kent @ 22 Feb. 2009, 10:02 ) Matt's the one that pointed this out to me! :,-( I' sure Matts used an attack bike in a T/hawk against me ?.?.?.?.? Do you want to check that one out for me matey ;-) |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |