Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Rules Clarifications - AA Suppressed?

 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - AA Suppressed?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
EAH, pg34
"Flak attacks may not be carried out by units belonging to
a formation that is marching or broken. This aside, flak
attacks are a ‘free’ or bonus attack, and making a flak
attack does not stop the unit attacking again later in the
same turn."

It isn't completely clear if Flak Attacks are suppressable or not. I see cause to believe it could be interpreted either way. Which is the correct way?

A) As long as it's not broken, it gets to fire.
B) As long as it's not suppressed, it gets to fire.

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - AA Suppressed?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:50 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:44 am
Posts: 553
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
From the FAQ:

4.2.4
Q: If a formation has Blast Markers
and wants to fire its AA weapon(s) at
an enemy air formation, but the only
unit that has the range or the LOF to
that enemy is the AA unit, is the AA
unit suppressed?

A: All ground units are considered to have
an LOF to air units so all the units in the
formation, not just the AA unit, would be
considered to have an LOF to the aircraft
formation. If the AA unit is the only unit in
the formation that is in range of the
aircraft then it would be suppressed. If
other units in the formation were in range
then they could be considered valid
Suppression targets, not just the AA unit.
Note that a unit can be suppressed when
firing at an aircraft even if it has no AA
attack value.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - AA Suppressed?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
Ahhh, it's one of 'those'. Fair enough.

Just for complete clarification, barrage weapons aren't disqualified, no? So a Whirlwind formation with auxillary Hunter, assuming they are all clustered together, with 2BP, essentially have a 45cm AA range?

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net